Posted by: Tricia | Monday, May 21, 2007

Another X on the calendar

I don’t know why I’m sitting here typing on this computer. It’s almost midnight. I should be going to bed! But I’m just now finally getting to where my chores for the day are done. And I don’t know why, but I don’t even feel like watching Dancing with the Stars that I DVR’ed tonight. Or Heroes. That show has kinda lost me. It’s the season finale, so I’ll get around to watching sometime tomorrow, I bet.

I’m so glad this TV season is coming to an end. It’s really interesting how my addiction to TV has begun to wane. I grew up with the TV on all the time, and that’s definitely something that has continued with me into adulthood. I’ve always disliked my obsession with TV, and frankly, I’m glad I’m getting to where it’s not such a huge thing to me anymore. Plus, I have a subscription to Netflix, and my $15.89/month has pretty much been going to waste since this programming season began last fall. The whole reason I subscribed was to give me something to watch on nights when TV didn’t have anything to offer…that was last summer. So now, the next summer is rolling around, and maybe I’ll kick my movie-watching back up into high gear.

Something was up with my IB tonight. I just now finally got him down for the night (hopefully)! I put him to bed around 7:30, and after coming inside from cleaning up the driveway & sidewalk (more about that later), I heard him start to cry on the baby monitor. And he got really worked up. So I went upstairs and rocked him a little bit, and he started to doze off in my lap. He’s not a sound sleeper by any means, so I knew I wouldn’t be able to lay him down without him waking up. But he started his wailing back up again, so after waiting about 15 minutes or so, I made him a short bottle of formula, went back in there, and we sat in the rocking chair while he drank, and then rocked some more when he was done. This time, he didn’t doze off like the first time, but he calmed down. When I tried to lay him down again, he let out a couple of little fusses, but right now…silence. Bless his little heart…I wonder if he had a bad dream or something. I read somewhere that even babies his age can have bad dreams.

I am so lucky to be his mommy. I am so glad he’s in my life! He is so cute, so sweet, so utterly precious! And he knows it, too. He has a way of attracting attention from anyone…and then he rewards them with the cutest little smile with his one little tooth poking up from his bottom gum. It’s amazing how he wraps everyone around that fat little finger of his. He is such a happy baby! Sometimes I feel like I’m just gonna absolutely bust wide open from how much I love him. I actually kind of enjoyed the time I spent with him while he was so upset this evening. I get such a satisfying feeling from rocking him, comforting him, holding him close, giving him nice soft touches, talking to him in a soft voice, saying positive, loving things. I just think of all the poor little babies in this world who don’t get such…never feeling safe, secure, comfortable, happy…and those who the only touches they get are hard and painful. So heartbreaking.

So today I started another never-in-a-million-years-did-I-think-I-do-this project. My house has a little piece of ground between my sidewalk and side of the garage, and it’s been so ugly with nothing in it. Well, there were quite a few weeds. But today, I got busy…I dug a lot of the concrete chunks and rocks out of it, and planted five beautiful hostas. I’ve been told they are very hearty, and can grow in just about anything…good thing, because that little plot of land is still full of gravel and quite a few rocks. But I did it, and now it looks great! I added topsoil, mulch, the whole bit. I don’t have a clue what I’m doing, but this is how I learn, I guess. I also have three gorgeous burning bushes in my garage that I’m planning on planting along my front porch tomorrow. I’m gonna have to figure out how to tear the sod up, but I’m not expecting that to be too terribly difficult. When we moved to Michigan, I just fell in love with the gorgeous red color the leaves turn in the fall, and I can’t wait to have them in my very own front yard! Now let’s just hope I don’t ignorantly plant them improperly, only to have them die a sad death on me. It wouldn’t surprise me.

The only thing that bugs me is that I didn’t get my hostas evenly spaced. The two hostas on the end up by my porch are too close together…and that drives me crazy! I wouldn’t be surprised if I end up trying to move the end one down a little bit. Argh. I hate my anal-retentive ways. Actually, that comes from my marching band days. I got to where it was drilled into my head to be evenly spaced between the people on either side of me, and that weird obsession continues to this day. And yup, I still try to hit sidewalk seams with the balls of my feet, just as if they were yardlines.

I guess that’s enough or tonight, given that the clock is ticking away towards 1:00 AM.

Leave a Reply

Categories

