Posted by: Tricia | Wednesday, May 23, 2007

Coming Soon…to a Body Near Me

OK…my own body…I couldn’t exactly work that title to make perfect sense. Anyway, I am going to be so sore tomorrow, I’m hoping I’m still able to function.

I am the best kind of exhausted tonight. I finally got down & dirty (literally) in my front yard and planted my burning bushes. I attempted to get this done yesterday, but discovered that digging three holes about a foot deep wasn’t going to be as easy as I thought. I got the sod torn up yesterday, and that ended up being quite a chore. And I now know the importance of marking out the area I want to landscape. I did it flying blind, and discovered that I gradually narrowed my bed as went…you know, like when you’re writing on a piece of unlined paper and your writing starts tilting up or down. So I ended up having to go back and tear out smaller pieces of sod to make the bed a perfect rectangle. I got it done, though. I regret not having done this last year before the sod had taken root really well. I guess it’s good I got it done now, though…it’d probably be even harder in subsequent years.

So then came time to start digging the holes. Ummm…yeah. The ground was hard, hard, hard. I ran across the street to ask SH about this, and she said to soak it real good with water, and maybe that would loosen it up. I was really nervous at this point. I was so afraid that it wouldn’t work and I wouldn’t be able to accomplish this task on my own. So last evening, the RK & I soaked it real good with the garden hose, and when I went out to work on it about 2:00 today, the dirt started coming up. Along with a 2×4 about a foot long, with a bent up rusty nail sticking out of it no less, a massive chunk of concrete plus lots of smaller ones, and even a small piece of siding. I relocated quite a few earthworms during this process, too.

The digging actually went a lot better than I was afraid it would, and tonight, I have three beautiful burning bushes adorning the front of my house, and one minor injury. There’s a little bit of a blister on the inside area of my left thumb. I didn’t get my mess cleaned up, though…my tools are still lying on the lawn, and the bonus presents I found are still there as well.

The boys and I went up to Lowe’s this evening to get some more mulch, because I ran out with less than a foot of ground left to cover. And I went ahead and picked up some hanging flower baskets, a couple of creeping flower plants to put in my Grecian urn-looking planter, some lawn fertilizer, a planter for the geranium I received on Mother’s Day, and plant food. So my plan for tomorrow is to get the lawn mowed while the IB is napping, even though tomorrow’s forecast is for record heat, fertilize it, water it, get my hanging baskets hung and my flowers planted. Then the front of my house should be b-e-a-utiful! (I love Jim Carrey…remember that from Bruce Almighty? Great flick.)

The only problem with all this is that the inside of my house has completely gone down the crapper. It is such a mess. I’m horrible at multi-tasking…my mind has been totally dedicated to getting this gardening done, as has my time. And my kitchen’s a mess, all the baby bottles need to be washed (AGAIN…I’m so sick of doing that), the RK informed me he’s already out of clean socks, both the upstairs bathrooms are in desperate need of some attention, the inside of my vacuum cleaner has not been collecting dust like the outside has, and a trip to the grocery store is mandatory in the very near future. And somehow I have to find the time and the energy to get it done without neglecting my babies! All I can say is, thank God for pizza delivery…I haven’t exactly been too gung-ho about cooking these last few evenings, either. The IB is lucky he’s been getting fed!

Again…what a great exhaustion I’m feeling tonight. It’s so awesome accomplishing something I never thought I could do. I seem to be doing a lot of that here lately.

Leave a Reply

Categories

