Posted by: Tricia | Saturday, May 26, 2007

Perspective

So this is the start of Memorial Day weekend, 2007. Holy crap, is it really 2007? I can’t believe we’re already closer to the end of this decade than we are to the beginning of it.

My baby turns 10 this year. This time, one decade ago, I was a big fat whale, so excited for the birth of my first child.

I was a newlywed, too.

I look back on the past decade of my life, and boy, I never imagined in a million years I’d end up where I am right now.

It’s sad….horribly, heartbreakingly sad….yet at the same time, very empowering.

I think back on the past, the shit I’ve been through…the good, the glorious…
…and the bad.

The awful…

Excruciating.

Soul-crushing.

My future right now is very different from how it was this time one decade ago.

I’m finally learning that my crystal ball is a little on the fritz.
I’ve gotta learn how to stop depending so much on it.

…and how to depend less on the promises made by those who are dearest to me.
Because it turns out I might not be so dear to them after all.

So many lessons learned…
…way too late.

But perhaps it’s not that late…I still have a lot ahead of me.
A lot to look forward to.
And I don’t even know what it is.

It’s just so different now. So altered. So off-track…
…or so I thought.

Perhaps I’m still right on track, and just don’t know it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

