Posted by: Tricia | Friday, June 8, 2007

Remembering my hometown’s 15 minutes of fame

Has it really been that long? Yeah, I guess so. I was but a young lass of 14 at the time. A freshman in high school. And for those two days, I sat just as riveted in front of my TV set as the rest of the world. But why is this so notable for me? I was just across town. A mere 3 miles away.

Oh, the passage of time never ceases to amaze me. Here I am, a grown woman of 34, living 1500 miles from this place I still think of as home. I’m doing such incredibly grown-up things that back when this was happening, I was completely incapable of imagining myself in such a position. And now, she’s 21, a married grown-up herself. How in the world did this happen? How is it that the seconds ticking by all of a sudden add up to two decades?

Anyway, you know I’ll be setting my DVR to make sure I don’t miss this. Here’s what I’m talking about.

Thanks Jimmy, for spreading the word!

Responses

  1. Thanks for popping in at my blog. That’s really cool about your hometowns fame. I do remember that vividly, following it on TV and crying when the pulled her out.

    Our little town had it’s 15 minutes of fame a few weeks back we had a “shooter” and that made national news. I don’t usually refer to where I live on my blog, as I have an X who dogs me for everything I do (or rather his new wife), and finds all of my blogs.

    I’ve been blogging much longer than my archives show, and I did not put any personal history down on my profile when I started this one. I have been divorced from my sons dad 7 years now, and so if you ever need to pick my brain or whatever email me, I’m always willing to listen

    I’ll be back again


Leave a Reply

Categories

