Posted by: Tricia | Tuesday, June 19, 2007

A meme, a dream, and more blowin’ off steam

Woohoo! Yeehaw! The Silver Lining’s first meme! I’ve been tagged by my new bloggybuddy Ba Doozie. So here we go…seven interesting facts about me.

  1. I have a tattoo of the state flag of Texas on my right ankle. I didn’t get it until I was 30 years old, and I had lived out of the state for more than six years. It seems the longer I’m away, the more homesick I get. I’m still very proud of this tattoo, and still very glad I got it. Should I ever decide to get another tattoo, it will be something Texas-related. Perhaps a bluebonnet. Or given that I bleed burnt orange, perhaps something Longhorns-related.
  2. I’m very partcular about how I unload the dishwasher. For those items that I have a lot more of than what I can use between dishwashings, the clean items go in the back, or get stacked on the bottom, so the ones that weren’t used this particular wash cycle will get used the next time around. It just seems pointless to have eight really cool ginormous polycarbonate cups when I can only use two or three before I run the dishwasher again.
  3. Although I live in the capital of American automotive manufacturing, I drive a Honda. And I love it. It’s the very first brand new car I’ve ever bought, and although it’s only three years old, it’s already paid for. I plan on driving it right into the ground. The domestically-made cars I’ve had in the past have all had numerous issues, and with the horrible road conditions around southeast Michigan, I believe only a foreign-made vehicle has been designed well enough to stand this kind of abuse for its intended lifespan. I feel bad for not doing more to support the local economy, but as soon as the engineers that work for the Big 3 can design a small SUV that will hold up as well as a Japanese-designed small SUV, I’m sticking with the import. Sorry.
  4. I was a bigtime band geek in high school and even college. I joined the band in the seventh grade, and found my niche. I learned so much about setting a high standard of excellence, gaining success through hard work, working together and cooperating for a common goal, and it was some pretty darn good exercise that took care of my P.E. credits through high school. Around the state of Texas, being in band is cool…you get out of a lot of days of school to take some pretty cool trips. I loved band so much, I went to the University of Texas and joined the 350+ member-strong Showband of the Southwest. That was pretty cool. I’m hoping I can get the RK to follow in my bandgeeky ways.
  5. Let’s see….three more…oh, I have one. My mother was 47 years old when she gave birth to me. Yup. That’s right. I have two half-brothers who were already in their twenties when I was born, and I even have a niece that’s older than me. Unfortunately, though, I’m not really close with either of my brothers, given that I didn’t grow up in the same household with them. But my mom rocks. She’s fast approaching her 82nd birthday, is still in relatively good health, and she and I are closer now than we ever were. Love ya, Mom! (I’m giving her a shout-out here even though she has no idea this blog exists.)
  6. I hate cleaning house, but I’m getting better at it. In a twisted way, this directly relates to Interesting Thing About Me #5. My mom always wanted a little girl after having two boys, and she finally got her 22 years after her second boy was born! So I grew up a princess. I didn’t receive very much discipline growing up, because as it turns out, my will was often a lot stronger than my mom’s. So I’d get everything done for me after being able to dig in my heels and hold out longer in our continous staring contest of life. So now I’m having to kick my own ass and I’m finally learning how to take responsibility for my own domain. And I’m also now using my strong will to make sure my sons don’t grow up like I did.
  7. I’m a huge fan of the Looney Tunes cartoons that Warner Bros. produced through the majority of the 20th century. My favorites are the ones from the 50’s, when Chuck Jones was in his prime. I’ve always loved Looney Tunes, but as I grew up, I appreciated them even more, because I began to realize that they were created by grown men. I own the four-disc Golden Collection on DVD. “Rabbit season!” “Duck season!” “Rabbit season!” “Duck season!” Hee hee…gotta love it.

So there ya go, Ba Doozie! Thanks! That was fun!

I had a weird dream this morning before I got up. I dreamed I was at a pool at some sort of athletic center somewhere in Texas. I was practicing my diving skills off the 3M board (which in reality, I’m terrified of the 3M board). I remember coming up from a dive, looking over at the edge of the pool, and seeing my boyfriend from college. I had to do a double-take to make sure it was really him, since I haven’t seen him in more than ten years. He saw me too, and we started talking. His wife was there with him, and just as I always thought, she’s a mousy, insecure, mom-type, and when she sees us talking, she gets pretty upset, even though at this point she has no idea who I am. So CB (College Boyfriend) ditches the wife somehow, and he and I start in on pretty deep conversation. His side of it basically has to do with how his marriage is a mistake, and how seeing me makes him want to try to revisit our relationship. We spend the better part of the day together getting reacquainted after all these years, and reviving our attraction for each other.

I learn about why he’s there at this athletic facility. And this is funny. It turns out there’s going to be a big pool party there later that day, and he’s been hired to set up the music system. The company he happens to work for specializes in sound systems acoustically designed for areas with swimming pools. Crazy, I know.

That’s really all I remember of the dream, except that we did hold hands from time to time throughout the day, and I could practically feel electricity flowing between our fingers. It seems to me that the only time I’ve ever felt this kind of mutual attraction has been in my dreams and never real life. In fact, I’ve started to wonder if anything of this level is actually possible in real life.

OK, so now I’ll fill y’all in on the real side of CB. He was in Longhorn Band, and that’s how we met. We dated for almost two years, and when we broke up, it was a mutual decision between us that we would be much better off as friends. So basically, how it went was we decided to break up, we both cried a little, then decided to go get some lunch. We started seeing other people, and here’s why I dreamed of his wife like I did. His first girlfriend after we broke up HATED me. She was so intimidated by me and the friendship CB & I continued to have. But CB wouldn’t let her come between our friendship, which I think only hurt their relationship. The amount of time they dated could be measured in years, though. She just couldn’t get it through her head that I was absolutely no threat to her or her relationship with CB. Now don’t get me wrong – I totally understand why she had this type of issue initially, but it just seems that over time, she’d start to understand the nature of my recently-revised relationship with her boyfriend.

So after I left college and moved back home, we kept in touch, and even after I met the IH, we actually took a weekend trip to Austin and stayed with CB & his roommate. And it worked out great. IH & I basically did our own thing the whole time we were there, and the IH saw that what I said about my relationship with CB was true. Nope, no threats there. Unfortunately, I don’t think he ever really saw it that way, though.

CB and I continued to keep in touch even after I moved to Indianapolis with IH. CB was still dating the same girl that hated me, and I remember getting phone calls in the middle of the night a few times when they were having some problems. They eventually broke up, and the last communication I received from him was a wedding invitation right after we had moved to Michigan. To another girl, of course. And I didn’t recognize the name. I continued to send him birthday and Christmas cards with never receiving any response. We even emailed some the last year or so of our contact, but his address was on the UT servers, and after he graduated, he had to forfeit his account. I never found out a new email address for him after that.

Over the years, I’ve always been so curious what has gone on with him, and have tried multiple times to get in touch with him again. Luckily, he has an unusual last name, so Google actually turned up some clues. One thing that was really funny about his profession in my dream was that he’s not anywhere near inclined in the sound/electronics industry. He got his degree in botany. He loves plants, trees, etc. And I learned a lot about botany from him. Anyhoo, my Google hits included a couple of pages from a website talking about certain plants that had his name on the credits. I also hit on his Amazon.com wishlist, which included a potty training book for little girls. So from that I gathered that he was indeed working in the botany industry, and that he had a daughter. Cool.

He grew up in an area of Texas that was hit hard by hurricane Wilma (or was it Rita? The second one that hit the gulf coast not too long after Katrina, anyway) a couple of years ago, so this got me thinking about him and hoping his family were all OK after the devastation. He was named after his father, so another site I came across on my Google search was a high school reunion site for his dad. This included an email directory, so I tried sending an email to his dad. Never got a response. I think that might be the last time I tried to get back in contact.

And now that I had this dream, it’s gotten my curiosity peaked again. I so want to hear what he’s been doing the last decade of our lives. But now especially with what I’ve been going through, it might not be very appropriate to try again. Another Google search couldn’t hurt, though.

This post has taken me way too long, so that is all. For now.

Responses

  1. Two things –

    I also got my first tattoo at 30 (just this spring) and I love it.

    I LOVE Loony Toons cartoons. I never really liked other cartoons as a child, but Warner Bros. were special. Foghorn Leghorn is the best. 🙂

  2. So, you never said what instrument you played (or if you did, I missed it). I played clarinet. In high school and college. In college as a part of *ahem* The Fightin’ Texas Aggie Band. Ever hear of it?

    Still friends? 😉

  3. Jane, that’s so cool! How’d your tattoo experience go? Mine didn’t hurt all that bad, actually. What’s your tattoo of?

    Eric, oh yeah, we’re still friends! While UT and a&m might be mortal enemies, I have a great respect for your school and all the cool traditions y’all have. I play the flute, but for marching season I got out there and twirled a flag. “The icing on the cake,” my hs band director used to call us. Good times.

  4. Tricia, I’m a bit slow (OK, I’m an Aggie!) and it wasn’t until I read your comment about the TV show that I put two and two together and figured out what your email address means.

    But you got the schools mixed up above. It’s not UT and a&m, it’s A&M and tu. 😉

    OK, truce. Let’s agree to salute the two best bands in the state of Texas, which makes them the two best bands in the universe!

  5. It was a great experience. 🙂

    I got a fleur di lis while I was in New Orleans. I’ve always loved that image, and I found out that it was the symbol of the city. Seemed to fit.

  6. Amen and amen, Eric! I think it’s awesome how you guys haven’t conformed with the evolution of marching bands throughout the years. Y’all are very, VERY old school, but no less entertaining.

    My freshman year in college, Texas played A&M in College Station. There was a story going around that there had only been around 600 tickets sold to Texas fans. So my first experience playing y’all in football was a bit intimidating, to say the least! Witnessing y’all do the stadium yells was AWESOME. Left me quaking in my marching shoes!

    I don’t think we beat y’all one time while I was in school there. We really sucked back then. Aaahh, the ebb & flow of college football teams…

  7. How cool, Jane! The IH got his first tattoo while we were in Mexico a few years ago; some Aztec symbol. I think they make wonderful souvenirs, so yours is very appropriate! Glad you’re enjoying it!

  8. okay…are you two through with that college band rivalry thing? Just teasing!

    Loved your meme answers, Tricia!

    And…yes, I’m a Looney Toons fan as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

