Posted by: Tricia | Saturday, July 7, 2007

The seventh day of the seventh month of the seventh year of the century

So do you y’all like my new look? I love blue. All shades of blue. It soothes and relaxes me.

I’m sitting here at my local coney island restaurant. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the concept, let me explain. Coney island-style restaurants are usually owned by people of Middle Eastern descent (and around here, there’s plenty of ’em), but there are also a couple of very successful chains. They have very, very large menus, with just about anything you could possibly want on them. And there’s also a bit of a Middle-Eastern flair on there, as well. Like gyros & Greek salads (which I’ve fallen in love with since moving to Michigan). And breakfast that you can order all day. It’s a bit of a diner feel.

I love this particular coney island. I guess you could say it’s a chain, because there is another one listed on the menu in another little town not too far from here. They offer free wi-fi. And the best veggie omelette I think I’ve ever had (extra onions, please). And I just noticed they now serve ‘Ice Cold BEER’ as well…bonus! When I’m not in the mood for breakfast, I usually get their gyro/Greek salad combo. Or if I’m really feeling nasty, a coney dog with cheese & onions. I love this place.

So I’m sitting here tippy-tapping away on my sweet little laptop to you fine people! Sipping a cup of coffee, ruminating a bit from that omelette I left no trace of on my plate. This actually feels quite good. I wonder how my babies are doing, though.

There’s actually a quite attractive guy sitting by himself in the booth right next to me.

I think after this I’m gonna head home and load the back of my car with all the cans and bottles I’ve collected for the past couple of months to go recycle them. You see, in Michigan, whenever you buy Cokes or beer in cans, bottles, or 2-liters (sorry…no beer in those), you pay a 10¢ deposit for every single one. So if you buy a six-pack, there’s an extra 60¢. A twelve-pack, $1.20. You get the idea. So I have a big ol’ garbage can out in my garage where I toss all my cans and bottles. When it gets full (it’s overflowing right now), I haul them up to the grocery store where they have these machines that I feed each and every can & bottle into, one at a time. It counts them, and when I’m done, I press the little green button and it spits out a receipt. When I make it to the cashier, I hand these receipts to him/her and s/he scans them, and I either get the total taken off my grocery bill, or I walk out with a little extra cash in my wallet. A pain in the ass, but I feel good making sure I get that bit of recycling done. The RK loves helping me with it. Although he’s getting big enough now that it’s not such a big deal anymore.

I hope to find the motivation to clean some today, too. This would be such a good chance to get caught up on the laundry. The forecast today is…hang on, let me check the WeatherBug…92°. Tomorrow 97°. I think I might have to get some serious pool time in there as well.

Child-free. At the pool? I can’t even imagine it.

Let’s see…oh yes! Wimbledon! I’m so psyched for tomorrow’s men’s final. Yet another thrilling meeting between Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer. This has become such a great rivalry. They dominate each other on different surfaces. Nadal on the red clay of Roland Garros, Federer on the grass of Wimbledon. And the thrill of this match-up is to see if finally one of them can beat the other on that player’s ‘foreign’ surface. Oh, their skill, oh their power, oh, the excitement! Given the five-hour time delay from London to here, I’ll definitely have to set my alarm to wake up in time to watch it. And after that match is over, I’ll start waiting for the end of August to roll around when the U.S. Open starts. Tennis under the lights…

The waitress just stopped by my table and filled my cup of coffee for what seems like the 10th time. I think it’s time for me to go! This has been so cool, though. I think I’ll have to start doing this on a regular basis. Quite enjoyable.

I hope y’all are having a wonderful weekend and a 7-7-07! May good luck grace you all!

Responses

  1. Have a great weekend, Tricia…

  2. … a clean house, oh how many times do I tell myself to use the time when the boys are with their father to get the house in order…ready for them to come home and wreak havoc…

    I bumped into you over at Amusings place; Happy to have found another soul sister.

    Sounds like you’re having a good weekend, keeping busy, letting the sun in.

  3. Hey Janie! Thanks! It was a nice weekend.

    Lu: Welcome! Thanks for checking me out. I’ll peruse your blog, for sure!

    Didn’t get as much cleaning done as I would’ve hoped. But it was nice just hanging out with me, myself and I.

  4. I like your new look! Trés chic. 😉

    I’m also jealous of your access to those coney island diners (especially with the free wifi). IHOP is the closest thing we have to that, and you know it’s not really very close, after all. But, we do have a new one in town and it does offer free wifi, so it could be worse.

  5. that coney island thing is making me mucho hungry!

  6. Oh, the coney island is such a great place. It would be even better if they all got together and decided to be 24-hour places. Not that I’d have much reason or opportunity to go at 3:00 AM…

    …I’m just sayin’…

  7. And Eric, I’d trade the coney island for a Whataburger or a combo burrito grande any day! Too bad I can’t have the best of both worlds.

    Mmm….Rosa’s….


Leave a Reply

Categories

