Posted by: Tricia | Tuesday, July 10, 2007

The long hot summer

I hate it when this much time gets away from me between posts. I’ve been coming up with all kinds of things to talk about on here for the last three days, and now I feel like I’d be up all night long typing it all in here. What I can remember of it, anyway. Argh.

One thing I wanted to mention on Sunday afternoon was that amazing, amazing men’s final at Wimbledon. Classic! Legendary! I’ve already mentioned how tennis fans all over the world right now are so blessed to have such a great rivalry for this particular era. And y’all know who I’m talking about: Roger Federer & Rafael Nadal. For the first time, Federer didn’t wipe the court with Nadal in a steady, textbook, boring three sets. Nope, it took five. And two of those went into tiebreaks.

I found myself rooting for Federer. And afterwards, in reflection, I realized why. I’m not ready for Nadal to reach that goal yet. This rivalry is still a bit new, and I want the excitement and anticipation to build a little bit more. Let’s keep Nadal winning on clay, and Federer winning on grass. It just seems that once one of them gets the upset, the denouement begins, and it just won’t be as exciting as before.

This seems to be one of those healthy, friendly, rewarding rivalries. They’re each other’s toughest competition, always motivating and driving each other to improve their game. Thus, improving the entertainment value for us, the fans. It’s so rare that these rivalries are born, and us sorry shmucks who get their jollies from watching the pros play rather than playing ourselves, benefit exorbitantly.

And as for the players themselves, twenty or thirty years from now, they’re going to appreciate having had each other to keep driving and pushing the other ever closer to perfection. And they’re going to look back on their extraordinary careers, and be thankful. And content.

OK…that’s the end of my tennis soapbox soliloquy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We’ve been suffering in 90+ degree weather for the last couple of days, and my poor A/C has been coming on starting before noon. My poor flowers and burning bushes are in sad shape. I gave them a good dose of water and plant food tonight, so hopefully they’ll perk back up. And I have no idea where they’re coming from, but my house is overrun with flies. They are so nasty. As for me, I’m actually enjoying this heat. It reminds me of home. This would be considered a cold spell this time of year.

We haven’t been going to the pool any, though, because the poor RK came home from his weekend with his dad with a horrible sunburn on his back. So he’s not exactly in pool mood while his skin is in such pain. Thank God the IB obviously got slathered up with sunscreen. But I’m really quite miffed that the IH wasn’t more on top of it with his elder child. And not only that, the IH broke one of the wheels on the IB’s stroller. He called me yesterday to let me know that he’s ordered a new wheel, and it’ll get here in 7-10 days. Thankfully, I knew that SH recently got her two-year-old a new stroller, so she’s letting me borrow the old one until the new wheel comes in.

The IH is taking the kids again this weekend, and then we’re going to start our alternate weekends routine. I requested this from him because this will coordinate my weekend parenting schedule with that of another neighbor of mine, who has also recently gone through divorce. Her older son has the same name as the RK, and they’ve become quite good buddies. So this way, they’ll be with their moms on the same weekends, and then their moms will both be free on the same weekends to accompany each other to various nightlife establishments. Which I’m so looking forward to. I love to see and be seen, and this past weekend just sitting at home really sucked. I almost decided to go out for a bit by myself, but decided I wasn’t exactly in the mood to look quite that vulnerable.

All right, it’s approaching 12:30, and I’m gonna cut this off here and go to bed. Nighty-night!

Responses

  1. Tell IH to get his own stroller. Since he has decided he does not want to be part of you, he can have his seperate life, that includes all his own accessories for kids

  2. Yeah, I thought of that. But that would be me encouraging his way-too-exorbitant lifestyle. I don’t want to give him any reason to blame me for his outrageous debt. And strollers don’t come cheap.

  3. Glad to see you posting again, Tricia!


Leave a Reply

Categories

