Posted by: Tricia | Saturday, July 14, 2007

Bloody marys & beignets, anyone?

Aaahhh….here I am back at the oh-so-delightful Coney Island. My veggie omelet has been inhaled. My coffee cup is bottomless, and it’s just me and my great little laptop.

Last night, after my kiddoes were off with their father, I was trying to decide what to do with myself. And all of a sudden, the urge to watch Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood hit me like a ton of bricks. Only I don’t own this movie. If you’ve ever perused my Netflix queue from my link in the sidebar, you’ll note that it’s on there, somewhere around #10. A lot of good that did me right that very minute.

At that point last night, it’s about 9:00, and since I’m free as a bird, I decide to run out and try to find the movie on a store shelf. As well as pick me up some supper. Target didn’t have it, which surprised me. At least I couldn’t find it. It was getting close to closing time, so I didn’t pursue the cause with my normal determination and vigor. Across the street is a Meijer, so I run over there. Bingo! And I only had to part with $9.99+tax.

This movie touches me on so many levels. The first and most prominent thing that hits me is James Garner’s character, Shep. His role in the life of his wife Vivianne is clearly, yet still quite subtly defined in the early moments of the movie when Vivianne throws a teacup or something similar in anger at the door. Just as Shep appears in the doorway, the cup shatters on the doorjamb right in front of his face. And he doesn’t even flinch. In that few seconds, we bear witness to so much, of which the details and nuances of this character are revealed and defined throughout the course of the movie.

The NIV version of 1 Corinthians 13:4 says “Love is patient…” But what jumps out at me is the King James verbiage. “Charity suffereth long…” And Shep is the epitome of ‘long suffering.’ I think one of my favorite lines from this movie is when he says to his wife, “I knew when I said ‘for better or worse,’ it was going to be a coin toss.” He never wavered in his commitment to her, despite bearing the brunt of so much misdirected blame over so many years. That scene right there sums up this character down to the core. This is absolutely the definition of love, and throughout the course of the story, he and his extremely neurotic wife find each other’s hearts and finally, after decades of marriage, start to build the type of relationship two spouses are intended to have.

Another great line: Siddalee (played by Sandra Bullock), Shep & Vivanne’s daughter, asks her father, “Daddy, have you been loved enough?” To which he replies, “What is enough?” Brilliant.

I so want to move to Cajun country. I just love all the quirky and flamboyant personalities that the South embraces. I feel like I could just be me without beating myself up for my differences or shortcomings. And the attitude that we’re going to have a good time no matter what. Teensy’s line, “I hope this isn’t a real emergency…I only brought one bottle of vodka” just cracks me up. And yes, this movie got me craving bloody marys. I can’t remember the last time I had one. And the food…oh my gosh, the food! Crawdads, gumbo, catfish, shrimp, shrimp and more shrimp. The spicier the better. Coffee with chicory in it. Sigh…

That’s all for now. The restaurant’s filling up, so I’ll give up my table for some other hungry patrons. So much more to blog about, but it must be at a later time.

Responses

  1. Did you read the book? The movie is pretty good, but has nothing on the book. 🙂

  2. No, I actually haven’t read the book. I’ve seen the movie quite a few times now, so I’m afraid the book’s greatness would now be tainted for me. That’s usually the way it’s gone for me when I see a movie before reading its book. Maybe I’ll give it another shot…


Leave a Reply

Categories

