Posted by: Tricia | Thursday, August 9, 2007

My life is pathetic. This really is the most interesting stuff going on in my life right now.

It’s a rainy, humid, dreary day again. Fine by me, really…I don’t need to worry about watering the grass. My poor little petunias that I’ve had hanging on my front porch are almost dead, but not quite. I need to go clean out the dead stems to make room for their renaissance, which I’m bound and determined to make happen. Anyway, I took them off their hooks and set them between my burning bushes so the rain can get to them.

I finally couldn’t go another day without doing some grocery shopping, so the boys and I headed out on Tuesday. I shopped the sales, going to two different stores, and I even had coupons in hand. All in all, I spent about $176, with my receipts indicating I saved over $45 on sale items and with coupons. SCORE!

I’ve always been a not-very-good grocery shopper. I’m bad at planning ahead, and also, if I’m not hungry when I go to the store, I won’t hardly buy anything at all. My pantry gets to the point where there’s tons of stuff in there, but none of it can be put together to make a decent meal. I’m trying to change that. I’m trying to get it so my pantry always has a few staples to eat on, thus making it not ‘necessary’ to go out for fast food.

So I’m quite proud of myself that I did buy so many groceries. I never feel guilty about spending a lot of money if it’s at the grocery store, because I know that the more food I buy to eat at home, the less I’ll spend on eating out.

Another thing I hate about my grocery purchase and consumption habits: I rarely buy a lot of fresh produce, because I know that the odds aren’t in their favor to be eaten before they rot. Growing up, I was never a big fan of fresh fruit or veggies…gimme a bag of Cool Ranch Doritos over an apple anyday. And I think a lot of that has to do with the convenience, or lack thereof, of eating fresh fruit. It’s messy, sometimes it’s difficult (ex. apples, oranges), and other times you have to time it just right (ex. peaches, plums). I mean, what if I’m not in the mood for a peach when it reaches its peak of ripeness? Or what if I’m craving that peach when it’s still hard as a rock? That frustrates me.

As for veggies, I’m getting better. I must admit, though, that most veggies I buy either come in a can, or they’re around 0°F. That way, I can fix ’em whenever I want. I love big, fresh tossed salads. I’m thrilled over this latest trend of buying pre-torn lettuce in bags, or other more exotic leafy veggies. I always buy a tomato, cucumber, onion, and green pepper to add to it. And then I make my salad, enjoy it one time, put the rest in a storage container, and then more times than not, it sits in my fridge getting nasty, only to be dumped out a week or more later. Argh.

On Tuesday, I did buy peaches, plums, salad fixin’s, strawberries, green grapes, & a baby watermelon. I’m once again renewing my efforts to enjoy the deliciousness of the naturally healthy, unprocessed, perfect-just-the-way-it-is food that God has lovingly given us without letting it spoil. Maybe this time around I’ll do a little bit better than the last time I tried. We’ll see.

The RK has a couple of his friends over right now. One of them is Friend, and the other is another boy in the same grade. I guess Friend and FriendZ have had some issues before, which Friend’s mom filled me in about a little while ago on the phone. So I’m glad to know the circumstances, and I’ll be keeping an eye & an ear out for any rise of discord amongst them. I have to admit, though, I love it when the RK has buddies over to help pass the time. I think it’s so cool when my driveway is used for bicycle parking. Even I recognize how lame and boring I am, and I’m more than happy to have my house be the designated hang-out house for the RK’s friends. I so desperately want the RK to have fond memories of his summers, and lollygagging around with buddies, I think, is up there with the best kind of summer memories a person can have. I don’t think it tops spending a summer on the farm with the coolest aunt or grandma, though. Unfortunately, there’s no one like that in my family to offer the creation of such memories.

The IB has reached another milestone, which can lead to some hazardous situations. He can now climb the entire flight of stairs in the house! I helped him acquire this skill by putting one of his favorite little toys about three or four steps up, and as he climbs up to it, I keep putting it higher and higher. And he just laughs, and keeps pluggin’ along! I think it’s saying quite a lot about his personality that he doesn’t get frustrated or mad when I keep moving the toy further away. I view that as him having a very determined spirit; he sees this as encouragement, rather than discouragement. And he has fun while working so hard. So for now, I must keep a close eye on him while he’s roaming free, and hopefully I’ll find the opportunity to put up that baby gate that’s been sitting out in the garage for weeks at the bottom of the stairs.

I just heard the dryer stop, so I guess I better go get the load of laundry folded.

Responses

  1. I bet it is fun to watch the IB climb those stairs. What a fun age!

  2. It’s the best! That little guy is just so cute I can’t stand it!

    I’m dying to post pics, but I’m trying to keep this blog somewhat anonymous. It’s driving me crazy!

  3. whats funny is I bought a baby watermelon, green grapes and strawberries at the store the other day…wow….we are on the same wavelength. I’m not much of a fresh fruit or veggie person for the same reasons you mentioned. I might as well take the grocery bag out of the car and head directly to the dumpster cause that’s where it’s going to end up.

    you need a better nick name for “friend”. we need to figure something out based on his personality.

    I like my house to be the neighborhood hang out too. there were times every kid in the neighborhood was at our house. even when dyl was tiny

  4. if you feel like your posts are boring maybe you should tell stories from your life, or about previous boyfriends etc, soap opera stuff? just wondering..curious…just being a dork


Leave a Reply

Categories

