Posted by: Tricia | Wednesday, August 15, 2007

I’ll blog however I want to blog!

Good morning to the blogosphere! My allergies are kicking up a little this morning, and my nose is dripping just enough so it tickles and itches. I hate that. Just thought you might like to know that.

The RK’s buddies are already over this morning. Friend (Ba Doozie let me know we need to find a new name for him…I’m open to suggestions.) rang the doorbell not too long after 9:00 this morning, and the RK was still asleep. I hadn’t even been up that long at that point. So I sent him on his way, letting him know that I’d have the RK call him when he got up. Then less than an hour later, but a little more appropriate, FriendZ rang the doorbell. So the RK ran upstairs to put some clothes on (he was running around in his tighty-whities) and answered the door. Friend was called, and now the three of them are upstairs in the loft laughing and being generally goofy in front of the XBox.

Right now my Neverending Quest for Self-Improvement is getting to where I don’t worry so much about what I blog about, or how. That’s a big part of my not posting on here as much as I’d like. I get so caught up worrying about my form, my topics. I get so concerned about how my posts will be received by whoever’s out there reading this, that I drive myself crazy. When in all actuality, I created this blog to be more like a traditional diary. It’s for me, to write about whatever I want. And if I collect a few readers here and there, then great.

I’ve always been so bad at keeping a regular diary or journal. It turns out that I really have no desire to write if no one’s gonna be reading it. So this weblog thing is right up my alley! I just need to learn to strike a happy medium between writing for me, and writing for y’all.

So it turns out that when I created this blog, of course I go right to seeking out readers. Of course I’d love to have a blog that gets hundreds, or even thousands of hits a day, but when it all comes down to it, I’m happy just knowing I do have just a handful of loyal readers out there. Anything greater than zero will keep me going.

And I need to quit thinking that my blog needs to be like this person’s, or like that person’s, or that my writing style needs to be more interesting. This is to be whatever I want it, however I want to write it. I do get some great ideas from others’ blogs, but ultimately, my blog is to be as unique as I am.

Also, I need to get to where my posts don’t take the better part of an hour to publish, and that posting more than once a day is more of a possibility.

OK…got some chores to do. The IB has an appointment with the developmental pediatrician this afternoon as well. The rotten kitties are just about out of cat food, and the library books are due. That’s what my day looks like.

Wow…so far so good! This post only took me about twenty minutes.

Responses

  1. Ahh, just be real Tricia and it’s fine. Relax and release

  2. Thanks, Bob… 🙂

  3. You are to be commended for realizing that your blogging is a work in progress, and will evolve as you get more comfortable with the medium (and gain clarity about what works for you and what doesn’t).

    And unless you’re trying to make money from your blogging, the quality of your readership is much more important than the quantity. (And how you define “quality” is really your call.)

  4. Concerning the quality of my readership, I know one thing’s for sure…I’m definitely on the right track if I can count Blogger Extraordinaire Eric Siegmund on my roll of readers!

    And I’m actually mulling over the idea of doing this for financial gain. But given my uncanny knack for abandoning blogs, I’m gonna make sure this one sticks for a little longer. So far so good…I’ve surpassed my previous record for entries posted.

    Thanks again for your input. It’s always desired, and always appreciated.

  5. what sort of financial gain are you looking at? I’ve thought about that before, but I just can’t get into ad’s and stuff. I am like you, started blogging as an online journal of all my disasters, and rants. I vacillate back and forth between worries about readership etc. I don’t know what the deal is with that.

    I hope you can just relax and type whatever pops into your head. That is the beauty of an online page, no one knows you and you can certainly be yourself and not worry about it. GO FOR IT

    I think you should call the friends

    “thing 1”
    “thing 2” etc

  6. The financial gain thoughts are still in their infancy. I have no idea what kind of money I can even make at it, but I’m not counting on much. Every little bit helps, though, right?


Leave a Reply

Categories

