Posted by: Tricia | Thursday, September 6, 2007

To market, to market

This afternoon, I decided to grab the IB and run up to the grocery store to pick up the few things we needed before the RK would get home from school. I didn’t have a whole lot of time to play with, but wasn’t too concerned, since my list wasn’t all that long.

On our last few trips to the grocery store, I’ve been noticing that the IB hasn’t hardly been getting any attention from my fellow shoppers. And it’s not from lack of effort on my part. All through the store, I’m talking my baby talk, interacting with him, shamelessly yet subtly trying to draw attention to my baby, who just happens to be the cutest baby in the whole entire world. And here lately….nada.

But today, the grandmas came out of the woodwork. He got so much attention; just about on every aisle we cruised down. I was loving it.

But I’m afraid I’ll have to give him a new nickname. And that would be Michigan J. Frog.

If you don’t know what I’m talking about, and if you have an extra seven minutes to kill, may I present one of the finest examples of the comic cartoonic genius that was Chuck Jones:

So it goes with the IB. He’s become a very proficient waver, waving at every single mention of the word “bye-bye”. That is, as long as there’s no one else around but me and the RK. I feel like such an idiot when I finish my brief conversations with the ladies in the grocery store, and as we begin to part ways, I always look at the IB and try to get him to wave. And nothing. Argh.

What a little diva.

Responses

  1. OK Tricia, now you have to post a picture of lb. Ya can’t tease us like that.

  2. […] This used to be fun.  It used to be a joy.  The IB & I used to have such a great time.  He used to love riding in the cart, flirting with other shoppers, being so cute. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

