Posted by: Tricia | Monday, September 24, 2007

Remember me?

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?

Matthew 6: 25-27

Just wanted to let anyone out there know that I’m still around, and hanging in there. Sorry I haven’t posted in over a week. I’ve been spending my computer time searching job listings and applying…I’d guess I’m up to somewhere close to 25 resumes being sent out. I applied with the UM temp pool, so hopefully they’ll get my app processed this week and they’ll find me something on campus somewhere if hell doesn’t freeze over and I’m not offered a permanent job right off the bat. My resume is also posted on M0nster.com as well as the local job search agent, and I’ve applied for a handful of jobs from those sites.

The fear and anxiety is really starting to take hold, because I have now sponged off my ex-husband for the last time. And for my grand finale, I really cleaned him out. So hopefully I can get some of my cc balances shrunk, and perhaps pay my lawyer some of the balance I owe her. But as for the mortgage payment coming up, and other bills I can’t stand the thought of being late or delinquent on, I have no idea what’s gonna happen.

I’ve also been researching the procedures for getting on WIC and food stamps. It’s a shot to the ego, for sure, but there’s no way I’m gonna let my babies go hungry. I’m calling DishNet. today to bump our channel package way down, and I think I might even give their new satellite-based internet access a try. It’s a lot cheaper than what I’m paying for cable access.

The RK is home sick today. He’s acquired another one of his coughs that sounds like an old, sick dog gasping his last breaths. The last time this happened, he never really got sick, and the cough started loosening up the next day. Hopefully it’ll remain true to form. He’s probably good to go to school, but I don’t think his teacher would think so if she could hear him. So he’s got a free day today.

Allrighty then…looks like the IB is done with his canned peach half and he’s ready to terrorize my living room. For those of y’all that are of the prayin’ kind, remember me, wouldja?

Oh yeah…on the update & the “Yay me!” fronts, I got my new printer installed, and it’s one of those that has the flatbed scanner for making copies and sending faxes. And the bonus of it all is….my print server works with it! Which means I can get something printed without having to haul the laptop into the other room and plug it in to the printer. I can keep my little butt parked right here on the couch, expel all the effort it takes to click on the “print” button, and after a few seconds, I hear the printer kick into action in the other room! THAT’S SO COOL!

Responses

  1. Without meaning to get too personal here, we have tons of jobs crying for bodies back here in your old stomping grounds. Is there a legal reason you can’t come back home? (Rhetorical question, really; you don’t have to answer it. Just my way of reminding you of Midland’s 2.8% unemployment rate.)

  2. Oh, believe me, Eric, the thought enters my mind about a gazillion times a day! My mom’s house (the house I grew up in) is just sitting there unoccupied, too. But in the state of Michigan, a non-custodial parent or the court has to give permission for a custodial parent to move out of state with the kids. And even though the only reason I’m up here in the first place is to be with said “non-custodial parent,” I doubt he’d agree to us high-tailing it outta here.

    Beyond the legal aspect of it, we did just buy a house a couple of years ago, and since then, the bottom has fallen out of the real estate market up here. So financially, we’d be taking a HUGE hit. Besides, I love this house. I wish I could pick it up and transplant it in Midland. Along with my neighbors.

    The RK wants to stay, too. He loves the snow. He has wonderful friends. He is emphatic about not wanting to live in Texas. The little snot.

    So you see, for the time being, I’ve decided it’s better to just stay put and see what I can get going up here. And don’t worry about getting too personal…I’m an open book. I have nothing to hide, and nothing to be ashamed of. So whatever questions that might pop into your head, feel free to ask away!

  3. Fair enough. We’ll just send some prayers your way that things will unfold so that it feels like home in all the important ways, even to a Texas gal!

  4. Thanks, Eric. That means so much to me. I’ve been up here for almost nine years, so let’s just say I know my way around. I’ve actually been living outside of Texas for almost eleven years now…wow. But one thing’s for sure…Michigan will never, EVER feel like home the way Texas does.

  5. Hang in there, precious. I’m sorry that things are so stinky right now. I know how it is. We’ve just gotten into the house, I have a car payment due in two days, and there seems to be a veritable dearth of money. Do whatever you have to do to make it work. I was a child of WIC. It was okay. Just remember that we have all payed into this program for years so that it can be a buffer if we need it. You’re just getting your money back. I wish I had known you needed a printer–I would have sent my extra! πŸ™‚

  6. Liv sent me here and I just wanted to offer you my thoughts and support.
    Do what you have to do. Even if it is only temporary.
    We all need to ask for help every now and then.
    And that is totally OK.

    Again, my thoughts are with you.

  7. I’m not sure what to say, so I’ll just say Hi, and I know you’ll find a job. Maybe you should work in a sports bar

  8. Tabba: Thanks for the encouragement!

    Ba Doozer: Hey there! Thanks for stopping by! A sports bar, huh? Yeah, that’d be pretty cool. How about Hooters? Nah…I think I’d have to go next door to the bar called Deflated Balloons. πŸ™‚

  9. Tricia, I was referred here by a post on Tabba’s site.

    I just wanted to say this.. in case you need the reminder…

    Regarding WIC and all the other social service programs available, you should feel free to take advantage of any and all you can find. You, your family and your friends have paid taxes for years so that those things will be available when people need them.

    Please don’t feel like there’s anything inherently wrong in using the resources that are available to you.

    πŸ™‚

    Peace,

    ~Chani
    http://thailandgal.blogspot.com

  10. Thanks for the reminder, Chani. It’s always good to be reminded of that. But actually, I’m surprisingly OK with the idea of it. It encourages me to know that there are such programs out there to help out.

    I think the reason I am so OK with it is because I know I’m not the one who got me (myself? not sure what word to use there) into this mess.

    Plus, I’ll do whatever I need to to keep my babies’ bellies nice and full. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

Categories

