Posted by: Tricia | Tuesday, October 2, 2007

Reality TV hits close to home

Are any of you watching this new season of Dancing with the Stars? So far, I’m really enjoying it, but there is a part of the show this season that just rips my heart out, and really makes it quite difficult for me to watch. Let me explain…

I’ve talked before, quite a while ago I see now, about the IX’s job. (New, or need a refresher? Click here.) For those of you who are watching DWTS, you know that Helio Castroneves is one of the competitors. And this man, although I personally have never met him, holds a very special place in my heart.

The show is touting him as a “two-time Indy 500 winner.” And I can tell you right off the bat that it was in 2001 & 2002.

And my ex-husband built the engines that were in his car both years.

We weren’t at these races, but we were gathered with his co-workers watching them on a big screen TV in a local restaurant’s banquet room. And what celebrations they were! I remember the champagne hangovers I had the following days…oy.

Looking back on it now, both of those wins were major chapters in my life with the IX. They will always be right up at the top of my most prominent memories with that man.

The IX even got his picture on the front page of the community paper where his employer is located, and the company got a huge write-up as well. Helio even came to the shop not too long after both of his big wins, and the IX was able to meet him and get him to sign a copy of the article (whichever year it was…I can’t recall if it was the first win or the second). I think it’s still tucked away somewhere here at the house.

Oh, I was so proud & supportive of the IX. And it really never meant that much to him, I’ve discovered.

So anyway, it’s turning out that Helio is definitely the one to beat on DWTS this season. Argh. As soon as I heard he was one of the competitors, I’ve been hoping he’d be awful and get voted off nice and early. No such luck! Hopefully I’ll get used to it as the weeks go on, because it’s quite evident he ain’t going nowhere.

But oh my gosh, his mambo last night! I was almost jumping off the couch, it was so good!

Dammit.

Responses

  1. That show is soooo popular…but, I guess it’s a generational thing, we haven’t gotten into it. Hubs controls the remote and he just skips right on to something else. I could go to another room to watch, but then I think…”What’s the big deal?”

    Anyway…I don’t believe in coincidences. Maybe all this came about to refresh your memory of the good times with IX, easing the hurt of the present. Just my thoughts.

    Heck! What do I know? I’ve never been in your situation. But one thing I do know…Helio was brought back into your life via DWTS for a reason.

    (How’s IB doing today?)

  2. Oh, it is a big deal! It’s not necessarily a generational thing, because my 82-year-old mom loves the show. Unless it skips a generation…

    I think if you gave it a shot you’d be quite impressed. You probably won’t be too familiar with a lot of the celebrities; I don’t even know them all. But I think one you might have heard of, and might enjoy tuning in to see this season is Wayne Newton. He’s towards the bottom as far as the scoring goes, but I think his popularity and fame will keep him on quite a bit longer.

    Eh…the thing about Helio isn’t all that huge of a deal, really. At least not at this point in time. A few months ago, I probably wouldn’t have been able to watch at all. At this point, the sting it causes is quite manageable. But it’s still big enough of a deal for me to mention it here.

    I’ll be sure to update on the IB in a post later on!

  3. Mmmm…Helio….! Although I’m really a Formula 1 girl at heart.

    WHAT DID I TELL YOU ABOUT THAT THING THAT I MIGHT OR MIGHT NOT HAVE GIVEN YOU ON MY BLOG. DISOBEDIENT GIRL!

  4. Ummm….whoopsie! I couldn’t resist. It was my first one (sorry Ba Doozie), and I just had to show it off!

    Besides, my new hobby is figuring out html. Did you notice how it links back to your post? Heh. Pretty cool.

    I’m tucking my disobedient tail between my disobedient legs now…


Leave a Reply

Categories

