Posted by: Tricia | Friday, October 5, 2007

Oh, what have I gotten myself into?

I can’t believe what I’ve done. I think I might’ve created a monster. I did something I never thought I’d ever do, or be able to do, for that matter.

I posted a profile on a very popular online dating site.

I’ve just gotten to the point where I am so unbelievably sick and tired of not having any sort of active social life, I’m about to go crazy. I’m sick of not having anything to look forward to during my ‘free’ weekends. I’m sick of not having anything to be sincerely excited about. I need the motivation to work on myself that a new….ummm….acquaintance…can produce. Did that last one make sense? You know…getting rid of those little undesirable personal quirks that aren’t very attractive to others, and adopting those that are.

Thus far I’ve found myself quite bold and daring with this new ‘hobby.’ I’ve sent little flirty notifications to three guys, and emailed one of them telling him what compelled me to send the flirt. It can’t hurt, right? And besides, there’s not all that much risk or major investment in exchanging a couple of notes or chatting on IM. And that’s most certainly all I’m looking for initially.

I’ve received a couple of those little flirts already, but from guys who live way too far away (40 miles is my absolute max) and out of my comfortable age range. And SOOOOOO not my type. So I’ve decided to be more proactive in my endeavor. It’s more my nature to be pursued, but looking back on my adolescent-to-adult life, I seem to attract guys to whom I can’t return the attraction.

The distance thing is a big one for me. I saw one guy on there who said he’s looking for someone within 5000 miles of Houston. I laughed out loud!

Of course, every criteria is negotiable for the right person.

So, this should give me all kinds of fodder for this blog. Aren’t you excited?

Responses

  1. Actually, yes.. I think it will be very interesting. 🙂

    Peace,

    ~Chani
    http://thailandgal.blogspot.com

  2. Email me or amusing for the straight up scoop. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

