Posted by: Tricia | Tuesday, October 16, 2007

OK…this is good…

So this online dating thing might not be all the horror stories you hear. I mean, there are plenty of dream-come-true stories out there, too.

While I’m quite apprehensive to believe that I might already be on my way to the latter, it certainly does appear this just might be the case.

Now, before you react with a “Pffft! Here she goes…”, allow me to present the evidence.

It all started one week ago today when I received an email from someone on the dating site. It wasn’t the generic little flirt that gets thrown around all over the site, but a personal note. He talked about how he loved my profile and wanted to know more. Very courteous and respectful. He mentioned he has a 14-year-old son, and then he closed the note by saying he thinks I’m pretty. Tee hee…

So I write him back. And we begin quite an email exchange over the course of the week. And I’m talking long, involved, super-meaty emails. Yup, his were, too. And given my last crash & burn in my initial attempt at online dating, I played this much more stealthily. For a while, anyway…but when he said he’s been divorced since before I even got married (he’s 7 years older than me), I felt compelled to fill him in on my situation. I composed a matter-of-fact email that went through the basics of the past two years of my life, and also stated that I’d completely understand if he had any reservations about continuing after this revelation. But he wrote back, saying he still wanted to continue. 😀

So we continued emailing for the next couple of days, and he said he wanted to call me. I gave him my number. (Yup, I know…don’t start with me.) He called me on Saturday night a little after 10:00.

We didn’t hang up until 4:00 AM.

It was like we’ve known each other for years. We have the same values, the same ideals, and the same attitude on life. We are both in total agreement that for this to have any possibility for the long-term, things must go slow and steady. But he’s also been saying things to indicate that my compulsion to plant a big ol’ sloppy wet one on him the first time I see him just might be mutual.

Yup, that’s right…we haven’t seen each other face-to-face. We talked last night for another two hours (that felt like 30 minutes), and made possible plans for the weekend. I told him I’d talk to the IX and ask him if we could flip our weekends again (it turns out we managed to flip them back after we went back to every other weekend when the school year started), and the IX agreed without even asking why. So now I have this coming weekend free, the important part being that Prince Charming & I now have the same kids-on-the-weekend schedule. Tee hee hee…

And this morning, we’ve been sending witty, flirty, totally-disgusting-if-it-were-anyone-else texts back and forth. Tee hee hee…

He’s really good at keeping it all in perspective, though…when things start getting a little too flirty, he inserts something about ‘friendship’ or ‘we’re just having fun for now…’ So when we do go out on Saturday, I’m just gonna follow his lead. I’m gonna resist the urge to find out the fun way if he still has his tonsils. 🙂

Things that make me go hmmm:

  • His son has the same name as the RK.
  • He shares his name with one of my brothers.
  • Our birthdays are just 3 days apart.
  • He loves how much I love football.
  • He said my Texas accent was cute.
  • We were both raised in the Baptist church. And let’s face it…there aren’t too many of us horrid Baptists in the state of Michigan.

I’m going to do this the right way. The honorable way. I’ve learned my lessons. So far, this is like a fairy tale, and I’m not going to be stupid and screw up something that seems to have some real potential!

I have to admit my mind has been running with this. But I’m also willing myself to think of all the things that could possibly go wrong, to remind myself of the odds, to not think any further ahead than the coming days.

But by golly, this is fun! I’ll keep y’all posted…

Responses

  1. Best of luck to you. 🙂 I’m enjoying reading about your adventures.

    Peace,

    ~Chani

  2. Hey, this is pretty cool!

    I’m rooting for you. I know three women who met their husbands via the exact process you’re going through, so I’m not as skeptical as some.

    Just, you know, be careful.

    [end big brother mode]

  3. I’m with Eric. This is exciting! Just keep your inherent good sense and pay attention to that inside Holy Spirit thing you have…and take separate vehicles…and you’ll be good.

    Have fun!

    PS – one reminder – God interrupted Adam to introduce him to Eve…wanna talk more, e-me at jane atsign snelsoncompanies dot com

    (end big sister mode)

  4. Awwww…thanks, you guys! And I certainly do appreciate you looking after me. Point well taken. I might even go pick up some pepper spray….

    …or a taser…

  5. Have a good time… and I agree with you… Van Hagar was better than Van Halen…

    Does this person like the Texas Longhorns??? That’s important to find out… 😉

    Hook ’em,
    mG


Leave a Reply

Categories

