Posted by: Tricia | Tuesday, October 16, 2007

Tee hee hee…

He called me a little while ago. He had asked me out to go hear the sax player from Bob Seger’s band for Saturday night, and he was calling to let me know that it was actually on Friday, and not Saturday. I told him, “OK, that’s fine. I flipped weekends with [the IX], so Friday night works.”

“Oh great!” he says. “Say…do you like Van Halen?”

After getting a big ol’ grin on my face, I say, “They’re only like MY FAVORITE.” (And yes, they really are.)

He says, “I might be able to score tickets to their concert Saturday night. Would you be interested?”

Ummmmm….YEAH! I’ve already told him that while I really enjoy concerts if everything works out for me to get to go, I’m never that disappointed to miss ’em, either.

And then we chatted about Van Halen, and he states that he prefers the incarnation of Van Halen with Sammy Hagar as the frontman.

ME TOO! Yes, seriously! I wasn’t going to say that at first, for fear of making it sound like I didn’t really care to go since David Lee Roth has risen from the dead to resume his position as lead singer on this tour. But once he said it, I was eager to agree.

Our conversation this evening was a scant 13:45. But I can’t wipe this big ol’ goofy grin off my face! I’ve even done a little happy dance. In fact, I’m kinda halfway doing one right now.

And frankly, at this point, I don’t really care where we’re going or what we’re doing, as long as he’s there, and we’re finally face to face. Cheek to cheek….

OK, I’m getting carried away.

You see? This is exactly what I was talking about. I have some real joy now. I have excitement. I have anticipation. Now, it may not work out in the long run, but right this very moment, I’m happy. There’s still that little ol’ annoying detail in my life of still not having a job, but ya know what? This motivates me even more. I don’t want to have these negatives hanging over the positives. I want to get my life in order so I can fully, really, enjoy this.

So tomorrow, my efforts will once again be renewed to become gainfully employed. Sheesh, anything to pass the time ’til Friday! I’m heading to a temp agency. I never did apply at any restaurants, but I’m gonna give the temp agency a shot. I’m gonna drag a response out of them to see if there’s any hope of getting a job anytime soon, and if not, I’ll head over to the new surf & turf restaurant that just opened not too long ago.

Oh, Friday seems soooooooooooooooooooooooooo far away!

Responses

  1. Good Gravy, Gertie!! I was a post behind and didn’t know about all the developments until this morning!! How exciting! I wait with anticipation to see how it goes on Friday night!!

    This may sound silly and trite, tricia, but I’ll be praying for this relationship to ‘be the one’! It’s especially meaningful to me because of the granddaughter I mentioned earlier. She has also “met” a friend. We’re all praying it works out for her.

  2. Yay! I find this very exciting and reassuring as well. Maybe there’s some hope for me too 🙂

  3. Have fun, girl!

  4. In_spired:

    Oh, how I covet your prayers! But do me a favor… Don’t pray for “he’s the one.” Pray that whatever God has in store for me with this guy, for however long it may last, that I keep my eyes & my heart open to what He wants to reveal to me through it all. Also, I’d like you to pray that I receive His strength and wisdom, and remain committed to going about this His way.

    But as for “he’s the one,” well, God already knows if he is or if he isn’t. And I only want what He wants, and if it turns out this guy isn’t the one, then I want to be able to move on with some valuable lessons learned, and emerge as a better person for having gone through the experience.

    But here’s hopin’ I have a lot of fun, no matter if it comes to and end after this weekend for whatever reason, or if I spend the next 50 or so years with him!

    Oh, thanks again, dear friend!

    Lone:

    Hey…be proactive like I was! Drop a few bucks on one of those sites, make a up a witty and flattering (yet HONEST) profile, and start reading others’ profiles. It’s a lot of fun, and you never know…

    Janie:

    Tee hee hee…. :):):)

  5. tricia:

    You are so wise for your young age!!

    Prayer granted!

    Have a great time. I’m taking a few days off from the computer so I’ll be checking back next week.

    Take care…


Leave a Reply

Categories

