Posted by: Tricia | Saturday, November 17, 2007

Deja vu all over again

I have a feeling this post is going to take me most of the day to complete and get posted, but here goes.

No Longhorns today. Wah! They only have one game left, and it’s the traditional day-after-Thanksgiving contest against Texas A&M. After the season the Longhorns have had, I really wouldn’t know what to think the outcome could be. And frankly, I’m having a hard time believing the college football season of 2007 is nearing its conclusion! That happens every year. Nothing seems to fly by faster to me than football season. Well, that, and my kids growing up.

But today is a BIG one for the Maize & Blue! The annual let’s-get-insane-and-talk-some-really-nasty-trash-about-our-biggest-archrivals meeting between Michigan and Ohio State. GO BLUE!

And I swear…the only reason I’m saying that is because the ‘Horns have the day off. I’ve gotta throw my enthusiasm somewhere, right?

This past week has been an extremely long one. I’ve felt a bit like Bill Murray in that movie “Groundhog’s Day.” Every day has managed to be just like the one before it, and frankly, it’s getting a little old. My house is in utter disarray, and I hope the IB will give me a chance to focus my attention elsewhere. Just for a while. I’ll take what I can get.

And here’s something that frankly, I just can’t believe. It’s so incredibly frustrating, I don’t even know how to express it in words. I never heard anything from that job I interviewed for. Oh! I know a word. Deflating. I just don’t understand why these people would seek out the services of an employment recruiter, have the recruiter send them two candidates to choose from in a timely manner, decide on one of the candidates (ME!), and then not be able to decide if they want to hire said candidate after all. So I’ve pretty much given up all hope of getting that perfect job that’s just a mile and a half from my house.

I’m having to apply for a forbearance on my mortgage, which hopefully will be extremely temporary. I can’t stand the thought of not paying my mortgage, even if it is agreed upon between me and my lender.

And now for some good news:

I got a call yesterday from one of the 60 jobs I’ve applied for at UM! It’s with the orthopaedic/physical therapy department, and it’s offsite from the hospital. So I have an interview set up with them for Monday!

And now, for some bad news:

If I get this job, my hours will be 10:30-7:00. Umm…yeah. That means I’ll be getting home just in time to put the IB to bed. The more I mull it over in my head, the more I don’t think I can take this job. Here’s another good place to use the word ‘deflated.’ I’ve been steadily applying for jobs at the U since early September, and this is the first call I’ve gotten. And to be honest with you, I haven’t been expecting to hear from any of them for a long time; at least not until I could amend my resume with some recent job experience. So I really feel like this is a great opportunity that I’m going to have to let pass me by. Sigh…

But I have to admit, just getting the call gives me hope. I’m still emailing resumes for jobs that pop up in the paper, so hopefully I’ll continue to get a few more calls.

M and I have still been talking on the phone and emailing back and forth all week long! There’s already a great comfort level between us…when we’re on the phone, our pauses in conversation aren’t awkward in any way. That’s cool. And one thing I’m coming to learn about him is how much he adores his kids. He hates not seeing them every day, and really makes the most of the time he does get to spend with them. He stays very active in their lives, and still takes a huge responsibility for them…and while that sounds like something he should be doing anyway, I mean in those little ways that he could easily hand off to their mom. Like buying clothes for his kids when they need them, still giving them chores around the house, even though they’re only there one night a week and every other weekend, etc. etc. And I hate how at this point we can’t spend any more time together than every other weekend when we don’t have our kids.

And P…well, I just don’t know. We’ve talked on the phone a couple of times this week, and exchanged a couple of emails and text msgs, but I’m just not feeling anything with him. I feel like I need to meet with him one more time, though, just to be sure. Because our first date went very well! Perhaps we just don’t have any chemistry on the phone? If that’s even possible…I just don’t know.

And remember B? Well, he and I finally have a date planned for the day after Thanksgiving. I invited him to meet me somewhere to watch the UT/A&M game, and he agreed! I’m not all that excited about this guy so far, either, because we haven’t even talked on the phone yet. He says that his cell phone doesn’t get decent reception at home, so texting is the best way for us to communicate. I don’t know about that. But I was the one that contacted him, and this way I’ll have some company to watch the game with, so we’ll see what happens.

Well, whaddya know? I got this post typed up in one sitting! Quite impressive! Now I’m off to try to restore order to this pigsty! Happy Saturday, all!

Responses

  1. Just want to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving! We’re making a quick trip to Lubbock today for visit with my sister but will be back home before Thanksgiving Day.


Leave a Reply

Categories

