Posted by: Tricia | Sunday, September 7, 2008

The Year of La Vida Loca

Greetings blogosphere! Gosh, where do I start? That itch to divulge all these thoughts, ideas, opinions, and ramblings going on in my head has been growing to a point where I need to scratch it. So I’m scratching it.

So how the heck is everyone? Is anyone even still out there? Have I been away so long that that I’ve finally slipped out of my former readers’ minds? I guess I have a lot of ground to make up since my last entry exactly 233 days ago.

But I feel like prioritizing my life is crucial. And given the new chapter my life began last winter, keeping up with this blog was just not possible. Working a full-time job and then coming home to take care of my two precious boys had proven to be indescribably time-consuming and….well, exhausting. As I grow older, the one thing I’m discovering is that the first place I start to feel exhaustion is my mind. When all is said and done at the end of a long day, my babies are tucked snugly into their cozy beds, and I would finally have the opportunity to sit in front of my trusty little computer and write, my brain was well on its way to termination of all activity for the day. Trust me…you probably wouldn’t have had any idea what I was saying if I had even tried!

But now, I’m starting to feel like I’m getting a handle on this new life of mine. The sense of being completely overwhelmed is receding somewhat, and progress is being made. Slowly, but surely. Right now I’m feeling quite encouraged.

This past weekend was just me and the RK. I asked the IX if he could only take the IB for this weekend so the RK and I could dig out his bedroom from the insane, massive amounts of junk and dust it had succumbed to over the course of the last couple of years. And now, it’s beeeee-u-ti-ful. The RK and I have made a pact to not let it get to the state it was in again.

We filled up four garbage bags full of crap. Lots of toys with missing integral parts, strange random little objects that neither of us had any idea where they had come from, etc. And we passed down quite a few objects to the IB. A bunch of stuff went from one bedroom closet over to the other. Lots of books. A few toys. A sizeable amount of stuffed animals. Anyway, the RK and I both have a very satisfied and accomplished feeling tonight over that bedroom. And now, I just need to get my room taken care of. I’m so ashamed of its condition, I don’t even care to speak of it. {Shudder}

The RK and I really needed this weekend to spend with just each other. The IB takes up so much of my attention, and often a lot of the RK’s as well. So it was really nice to have it just the two of us. We went out to dinner last night, where he wolfed down a full-sized adult burger. He said it was the best burger he’d ever had. Yesterday we ended up being lazy all day, watching movies, napping, playing Wii (that he got for his birthday from my mom back in June). We didn’t have to worry about keeping tabs on the incredible two-year-old force of destruction that is the IB. We need to do this on a regular basis, I think. Before the IB came along, it was just the RK for nine years; but what I think is kinda cool is that he and I both agreed it’s really hard to remember what that was like now. And in a good way…neither of us really miss it all that much!

So in the interest of not going for the longest post in the history of the blogosphere, I’m going to try to catch up on everything that has gone on in my life this year in subsequent posts, but I’ll hit the big points briefly in this initial re-introduction.

First up, my job. It’s still going well, but it’s had its ups and downs. I’ve been working really hard to integrate into the dynamics of the office, with mixed results. It turns out I came in right before a huge and unplanned shake-up in how things were being run, and because of that, I, as the very lowest man on the totem pole, ended up taking quite a bit of heat as revelations came out and adjustments had to be made. But I’m still there. And more determined than ever. Again…details to follow.

Next, P. We had a really good run of it until early May. Really good. And then, all of a sudden, he felt the need to come up with some lame excuse about why it wasn’t going to work out, and that was that. (Again…details to follow.) I was very hurt and confused, but compared to what I had gone through with my divorce, it wasn’t all that difficult to pick up and carry on with life as usual.

..so at that point, the idea of a fun, exciting summer was at the forefront of my mind, and I decided to re-up my subscription on the dating site for a month. I met a few guys, but nothing panned out to bring that ‘summer’ idea to fruition. And now at this point, I’m perfectly happy flying solo…cuz ya know what? Dating is stressful! I’ve really been enjoying just being me, not freaking out over all my insecurities, not having the anxiety that comes with starting to let someone brand new into my life. Or shall I say, our lives.

OK, there I hit the biggest points, and will expound on them more in future posts. As well as add some others. I’m gonna keep writing, though, and hope that some of my previous readers will find their way back here (perhaps with a few new ones as well). Because I have been thinking of you, and keeping up with your tales…at least a few of you. So anyway, if any of you did happen to keep this feed in your readers, drop me a comment and say hi! You have no idea how that would thrill me. Maybe I’ll finally come completely out of the shadows and start dropping a few comments of my own as well…

Responses

  1. Omg! I’m so glad to see you! 🙂

    I had a feeling that things had really ramped up and gotten busy for you. New jobs can do that, and certainly new dating can do that.
    I agree with you that dating is stressful. Sometimes it’s just best to let it be. Other things have to take priority.

    But you seem to be in a good place, and I’m so glad to hear that.

  2. Hey girlfriend! You have no idea how glad I am that someone’s still out there! Thanks for keeping me in your feed-reader/downloader thingy.

    Frankly, it feels good to just be me. I’m in a state of mind right now where, no — I don’t have a man, and I actually like it that way. I’m focusing more on getting myself to where I want to be physically, mentally, spiritually; and at this point dating is nothing but an obstacle to that goal. So for now, this where I am, and I’m content with that.

    Thanks for saying hi! I’ve been lurking around your turf for the last few weeks…maybe I’ll start showing myself again. 😉

  3. If I checked my personal mail more often, I wouldn’t be 10 days late commenting!

    But, wow, welcome back, Trish! you’ve been muchly missed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

