Posted by: Tricia | Thursday, September 18, 2008

"The Badgers are Coming!" …and other random thoughts in my head

Today I was at work wasting time when I came across this article from the Washington Post via MSNBC.com. Now when it comes to economics, I’m not the sharpest tool in the shed. My extent of formal learnin’ in economics was one semester in high school eons ago with a chain-smoking teacher who could barely make it through class without a cigarette. (Cool class, though. I actually enjoyed it.) And while I don’t have the expertise that Steven Pearlstein did to bring the entire global economy into it, what I wrote last night was pretty darn close to what he had to say on the subject. I felt smart. I felt validated. Made me feel pretty darn good.

And then after that, I check out Lone Chatelaine’s post for today, where she actually linked to me. That probably made me feel even better. Thanks, dear.


Now for the section entitled, “What the Hell Have I Gotten Myself Into?”

SH forwarded me an email today (which is the first communication I’ve gotten from her since before her baby was born in early June…more on that later) saying that the University of Wisconsin marching band is coming to town next weekend when the football team plays UM, and that they’re doing an exhibition show at the local high school’s football game the night before. They need local residents to open up their homes to them for Friday night and get them to and from the football field.

Yup. I volunteered my home. I requested two guys, who perhaps might make an impression on the RK, given his recent decision. The RK and I have talked about it, and we’ve made plans to head to the football game that night to watch the band perform. Yeehaw!

I’m gonna have to get the RK to CLEAN. THE. LOFT. I hope the guys are cool with the pull-out bed in the couch up there. Aw heck…they’re college kids. They don’t care. And I’m gonna have to do a helluva lot of cleaning myself! Nothing like something like this to motivate me, huh?

That concludes this edition of “What the Hell Have I Gotten Myself Into?” Stay tuned for future editions…here’s hoping for many more to come!


I’m going to a concert Sunday night. I’m normally not a big concert-goer; however as I’ve aged, I’m finding myself wanting to go hear more live music than in the past. I’ve never liked the idea of spending so much money on concert tickets, but now I’m starting to see the value in the experience.

Anyway, a few years ago, I was turned on to a very soulful singer from Louisiana by the name of Marc Broussard. His most popular cut, Home, never gets old. Go listen to it. Go on. And I dare you to not start tapping your toe at the very least. And what blows me away is he’s a 20-something white guy! With that voice? Really?

My second favorite cut off his second album, Carencro, is The Wanderer. I love the lyric,

“And if you would accept me for me/
Then I promise you that there’s a better man inside of me”

I just bought his latest album to drop, entitled Keep Coming Back. Initially I’m not as thrilled with it as I thought it would be. I think it’s just my own lofty expectations, and I’m sure that as time goes on, it’ll find me.

He’s definitely one of those artists who is much better in a live setting than in a studio, and I’m just so excited I can’t stand it! It’s about time I did something for me. The boys are going with their dad this weekend, and I made arrangements with him for them to stay Sunday night as well, and he’s going to take the RK to school and drop the IB off at the babysitter’s Monday morning. Rawk.

That’s it for me tonight. My next post will be, “Chapter Two: Potential Unrealized.”

I know you all just can’t wait.

Responses

  1. “I know you all just can’t wait.”

    Are you kidding me? I love that you’re posting again.

    I do think you may have lost your mind a little bit about volunteering your home to college kids. But then another part of me loves the small town nature to that idea, so I think it’s great, and could see me doing the same thing.

  2. […] **Did you listen to his stuff in my earlier post? Did you? DID YOU? Go back and listen now. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

