Posted by: Tricia | Saturday, October 4, 2008

Swirling around in my head…

In the past whenever I’ve blogged remotely, it’s always been from the coney island restaurant, usually during or after one of their scrumptious veggie omelettes w/extra onions. This is a remote blog post, but I’m not at the coney island. I’m at Panera. (Come to think of it, I have posted from here before.) I think I might make Panera my new favorite out-of-the-house wi-fi spot, because I’ve discovered they have outlets to plug my laptop into. I’ve glanced around for some at the coney island and haven’t seen any. My laptop is getting to an age where the battery just doesn’t have the juice it used to.

Anyway, I’m so content right now. I don’t have to worry about my laptop’s battery life. I’ve got my iPod on shuffle as it charges. I have a bottomless cup of coffee beside me…I’m on refill #2. The only thing I would change is to make it just a hair warmer in here right now. I haven’t eaten anything yet today, and I’m trying to decide what kind of soup I’m going to order…broccoli cheddar, or cream of chicken & wild rice?

As you know, I’m a proud native of Midland, TX, and I follow a handful of blogs that originate from the area. Check out what I just found over on Jimmy Patterson’s blog for today. That’s at the Midland International Airport. That’s pretty damn cool.

As you might’ve guessed, the IX took the boys this weekend. How else could I be relaxing at Panera with my laptop? Wouldn’t happen if the boys were with me. So I find myself in that position of trying to figure out what to do with myself for the weekend. There’s always stuff to clean, that’s for sure. My options in this category are:

  • finally get my bedroom cleaned out
  • sweep & mop the kitchen & dining room floors
  • mow the weeds
  • work on my front room/office to make it functional
  • clean my bathroom (actually, bump that to the top of the list. It’s NASTY.)
  • reconcile my checking account on my Quicken and pay a couple of bills

Let’s see if I actually suck it up and do any of those things.

The Longhorns are in action tonight in Colorado, and since it’s on FSN, I’m rather confident I’ll get to see it. I slept in until after 11:00 this morning, and it felt so good. Got up, jumped in the shower, and even put on makeup today. I’m figuring out that I’m more motivated to accomplish other tasks if I clean up and make myself presentable. Let’s see if it works out. At least I’m out of the house right now…that’s progress.

I’m quite proud of my last post. One of my better ones, I think. However I had forgotten that I spoke of ‘thangs’ just a few days before. I’m losing my mind, I think! Whatever…I’m still proud of that last post.

When following high-profile crime stories, I’m extremely slow to pass judgement. I have no direct knowledge of what actually happened; thus, I don’t feel like I have any right to label the accused as guilty or not. However, there are two stories in the news right now which I am finding myself with my own opinion and speculation of guilt and innocence.

My judgement of guilt goes to: O.J. Whether or not he actually did this crime he was just convicted of, I’m glad to learn he’s going to jail anyway. I truly think he got off scot-free from murdering his ex-wife fourteen years ago, and it’s nice to see that now maybe he’ll pay the price for his actions…however recent or long ago they were. Throw the book at him. Let him rot in there. Since the death of his wife and her friend, he has behaved in ways that have proven to me that he’s got nothing good to contribute to this world.

And my judgement of innocence goes to: Helio Castroneves. It came as a huge shock to me to learn of his indictment for tax evasion. I feel like I’ve known him for years, and would never, ever imagine he would or could do anything like this. To read of him in handcuffs and leg shackles?!?!?! weeping in the courtroom breaks my heart. It really does. Of course, he’ll be given the chance to plead his case before the court, and hopefully the real truth will come out, whatever it is. But oh, I will feel so hurt and betrayed if it turns out he really did what he’s being accused of. Whatever the verdict, his life will be forever changed by this, perhaps unfairly. I’ll still be a fan of his until then, and hopefully beyond.

I guess that’s about it for now. I ultimately decided on the broccoli cheddar soup since they didn’t the cream of chicken today. I’ve been sitting here for more than two hours, and my butt’s getting numb. I hope everyone out there has a wonderful first Saturday of October…

Responses

  1. Yum! Broccoli and cheddar soup from Panera! I love Panera. We don’t have them anywhere close to me, but when I used to travel for business, I always found one to hang out in. I also like their tomato bisque soup with an Asiago roll.

    Big cheer for OJ in jail. Finally, one way or another, I don’t care. Just get him off the streets and out of society. His free ride should have ended long ago.

  2. Hey. At least y’all have a Panera bread! I have to travel to the Dallas Fort Worth area or other parts remote and 5 hours away to enjoy that!

    Glad you’re having a great day!

  3. “I’ve got my iPod on shuffle…”

    If my grandfather were still alive he would be ashamed to learn that I actually know what that means.

  4. I don’t watch news etc, so have no idea what OJ got convicted of. Isn’t he kind of old? Maybe he’ll be like the senior citizen at jail, and get the discount on his cigarettes at the commissary

  5. LC – I’ve never tried their tomato bisque…I’ll keep it in mind. I wonder if they’d fix me a grilled cheese sammich to go with it…

    Janie – Panera’s one of the things that helps me appreciate living in Michigan. It’s a trade-off for a Schlotzsky’s nearby, though.

    Packsaddle — Welcome! You say you know what that means…does that mean you have an iPod? If not, GET ONE. I love that I can put whatever music I want to on there, hit ‘shuffle,’ and get a good variety of music, still tailored to my personal tastes. Might hear some Led Zeppelin, then some Dixie Chicks. Cool.

    Dooz – Click here. And yes, he is old. He’s a lot older now than he would’ve been if he hadn’t have murdered his wife, I bet. And I mean that figuratively, of course.


Leave a Reply

Categories

