Posted by: Tricia | Tuesday, October 14, 2008

Bringin’ Home the Bacon

OK, I can’t go to bed tonight without posting something. I have to get that pathetic drivel off the top of my page!

Really…it’s not necessary to call the men in the white coats for me.  Yet.  I’m really feeling much better now.

Today was actually a pretty good day.  I’m not feeling so much like I’m getting sick anymore.  I think I dodged yet another bullet.  HUGE relief.

Work was…well, work was work.  I’ve been there almost a year, and I’m just now starting to feel like I’m getting the hang of it.  I’m starting to realize that unless I get my degree, I don’t have much of a chance of moving up very much within the company, though.  There is a very solid caste system in place around there.  And I have a feeling that even if I do get my degree, it’s not going to help me all that much.  They do have a tuition reimbursement program, though.  Perhaps I’ll take advantage of that, then hit the road.  Onward & upward.  I just don’t think this is ultimately going to be the place that will reward me for my dedication & loyalty by helping me achieve the life I want for my family.

Twice a year they have the annual sales meeting, where all the reps that live all over the country, and even some of our international distributors, all come to Ann Arbor for the weekend.  I’ve been there through two of these meetings now, and they’ve been the highlight of my employment there.  The reps ROCK.  (Well, most of them.)  There’s a couple that when they need something from the office, they dial my extension.  And I take care of ’em.  Then there’s a couple more who don’t exclusively call me for whatever it is they need, but I get myself in trouble by sitting there chatting on the phone with them for up to 20 minutes.  Oops.  We have two reps that cover southern California.  One of them just happens to be from Houston.  And just happens to be a graduate of UT.  Oh Lord…this is my first football season working here, and so far, it ain’t pretty.  D and I really hashed out the OU game today!

Oh, which reminds me…

A handful of us do a football pool each week for $3 each.  We pick who we think is going to win each of the NFL games, and one of the college games.  Weeks ago, I specifically requested that the college game this week be Texas/OU.  Since they both remained undefeated in the games leading up to it, the guy who runs this thing went for it.  On my sheet I put a big red circle around Texas with arrows pointing to it.  B also picked Texas to win, and we were the only two who did. Heh.

I went 9-6 for my picks last week.  Second place.  Grrrr.  I’m gonna start watching more SportsCenter. The Lions would’ve made it worse for me if they had actually won, too.

So back to the sales reps…

When they all came in town this past July, we had such a great time back at their hotel sitting out by the volleyball court (or actually on the court causing my thumbs to turn the brightest purple you’ve ever seen trying to hit the volleyball over the net. One of the two reps we’d all like to strangle kept telling me, “Just get it over…just get it over…” whenever it came time for me to serve. I finally got to the point where I said, “OOOOHHHHH! Is that what I’m supposed to do? I get it! It’s supposed to go OOOOOOVER!” Asshole.) drinking beer and shooting the shit ’til the wee hours of the morning. When those guys are in town, I honestly feel like I’m part of a family. They’re just my speed. I gel right in with them. They’ve truly become great friends of mine. So forgive me if I take…ahem…a few minutes to chat on the phone with them during my day.

So now I have the long wait ’til January to see them all again like that.

Yep…I have a J-O-B.  That’s pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

Categories

