Posted by: Tricia | Sunday, October 19, 2008

OK, now I think it’s time to call the guys in the white coats

…because I am completely certifiable. But I’m going to tell you what I did, anyway.

Remember when I talked about thinking Joe the Plumber is cute? It’s not that I think he’s so cute per se, although he is easy on the eyes. But the way he handled all of his newfound celebrity really impressed me. His physical appearance is just the icing on the cake.

I wrote him a letter. I stayed up ’til 2:00 AM crafting it ’til it was just perfect. Stuck a stamp on it. And mailed it.

“Umm, hi…

As is the rest of America (and beyond), I’ve been watching the non-stop media coverage of your little encounter with Senator Obama last weekend, and then how you ended up being the star of last night’s debate. When I got up this morning to get my boys ready for the day, I found out you were all anyone could talk about! At lunch, I caught part of the impromptu press conference you had in your driveway on the internet.

I’m writing you this letter to let you know that I think you are an extremely intelligent, well-spoken, mature, & down-to-earth person, and I have so much respect for the attitude you’re demonstrating. I’m very impressed with your reaction to all of this excessive (and thank God – fleeting) attention you’ve been getting and I have to admit…I’m also quite intrigued.

I guess what I’m getting at is that I’d personally like to get to know you. I think I’ve correctly deduced that you are divorced, but I haven’t come across any evidence confirming or denying any sort of significant other of the non-matrimonial sort. If there is already someone special in your life, then I’m sorry to have bothered you, thanks for your time, and I wish you all the best. But after what I’ve seen and heard from you and the reaction it invoked in me, I’d be a fool to walk right past this without doing something. The saying “stranger things have happened” comes to mind.

Of course at this point, the whole world knows thinks they know all about you, and you have no idea who in the world I am. First of all, I live just outside Ann Arbor. I’m 35, and I’m a born and bred West Texan. I’ve been living in Michigan just about ten years now, with two years in Indianapolis on my way north. I have been divorced for a little over a year now (living single for almost two). I have two incredible boys, ages 11 & 2. I have them full-time, and my ex & I are doing the every-other-weekend thing. (Just what I always dreamed of.) I was a stay-at-home mom with my older son for the ten years my marriage lasted, and when everything fell apart, I suddenly found myself thrust back out into the workforce. I’m about to celebrate my first anniversary in early December at my first job in over a decade.

(Yes, both my boys have the same father. My younger one came along right as everything was crumbling.)

[Here I get into a little more detail about my job, but I’m editing it here to help maintain my blogging anonymity.] And it’s right about now that I’m really kicking myself for not finishing college. It’s definitely not what I see myself doing for the rest of my life, but for now, I love my job, and I am so, so grateful to have it.

I also noticed on TV that you appear to be quite the Buckeyes fan. No worries…I may live in the shadow of The Big House, but my blood is of the burnt-orange Longhorn hue. And I’m quite passionate about the football team (like every good Texan, right?), especially right at the moment.

I’m so curious to know how you’re receiving this. I’d also be willing to bet I’m not the only one who’s attempting something like this. But I’d love the opportunity to at least visit with you. (PICK ME! PICK ME!) I’m not gunning for anything long term, or anything…but there was just something about you, and the fact that we’re in relatively close proximity, that won’t let me just ignore this, either. So I’m jumping.

And what’s funny is this is the first election I’ve cared this little about or been so disgusted with disinterested in since I’ve been old enough to vote. But your story really grabbed me. So here I am…with no regrets, however this turns out.

I wish I could’ve found an email address for you…snail mail seems so antiquated. But I was able to figure out your physical address (I’m quite resourceful that way), so snail mail it is. Anyway, if anything I’ve said has intrigued you and you just might be interested in getting in touch, you can email me at texanflutey[at]gmail[dot]com.

Yes, I’m totally freaked out that I’m doing this. And I completely realize that you’re probably freaked out at the thought of actually responding. To that, I say Carpe Diem. Life is so short. Don’t let it be boring. (And nothing would thrill me more.)

I hope I’ve told you enough about me to kinda sorta set your mind at ease about my true intentions. This situation is extremely lopsided right now; I know so much more about you than you do me. So in the interest of total fairness, please know that I am willing to answer any questions you may have open and honestly, and on the other side of the coin, I’d also hope that we can both mutually respect each other’s privacy in it all.

(I promise I’m totally on the level here…I know the media’s going crazy over you right now, and they’re coming up with some pretty wacked stuff. And frankly, I’m not paying attention to any of it. I know that what they’re portraying is nothing of the real you, whatever that may be. I heard what you had to say, and that was enough for me. I’m really hoping you’ll grant me the chance to learn a little more about the real you.)

Kindest regards,
[Tricia]

Reading back over the letter now, there are some things I’d like to change. But it’s too late now. The letter you just read is exactly what I mailed.

I just can’t help but think that this would make a really great story to tell our hypothetical grandkids someday. What if?What if?What if? I hate it when people ask “What if?” about the past…but everyone should be asking it about the future.

So now the waiting begins. I mailed the letter on Friday, guessing it might have arrived yesterday, Monday for sure. I’m certainly not expecting any sort of response. Hoping for one??? Oh yeah. Expecting one? Nope.

It’s so funny how the human mind works. I keep rattling through all the negatives…”he probably already has a girlfriend.” “He probably thinks I’m a freak/psycho.” “He just might not want to date right now.” But then on the other side of it, there is really only one positive: “He just might be interested…wait and see!”

One thing’s for sure…had I not gone through my online dating experience, there’s no way I would’ve had the balls to do this.

Y’all know I’ll keep you posted!

Responses

  1. I love it! You are so awesome 🙂

    My fingers are crossed for you.

  2. I don’t think I could ever do something like this. But good luck Tricia.

  3. Let’s totally freak him out shall we? Send all of us his address and we’ll send him letters extolling your many virtues!

    Okay, that would send him running for the hills!

    You got guts girl! Finally got through that “southern women assertiveness” course didja!? Love it!

    Bet he’s getting a lot of mail though, isn’t that weird? From obscurity to insta-fame. Kinda feel sorry for the guy!

  4. Yeah, I feel sorry for him, too. One thing I was trying to get across in my letter was that I don’t care anything about his new ‘insta-fame,’ as you call it (I love that, by the way), but it just so happens that that’s how I came to learn about him…from the MSM. I shouldn’t act just because of that? Seems kinda silly to me.

    Yeah…like I’m one to talk about ‘silly.’

    Thanks for y’all’s support…really.

  5. Oh my goodness…seeing this just makes me even more glad I went out on this limb.

  6. I think you did right – you followed your heart. That’s not ever a bad thing to do!

  7. And you think I’m brave? Heck, you take the cake babe!

    Love the letter. I hope the media picks this up… such a great idea!

  8. Oh dear God, I hope the media does not pick up on this! That’s SOOOOO not what I have in mind! I want to meet Joe, start dating, fall hopelessly, madly, forever in love, and live the rest of our days together with our kids in obscurity.

    Well, maybe some sort of “Whatever Happened to Joe the Plumber?” piece a few years from now. That would make a great story, huh?

  9. Hmm, Mrs. Joe the Plumber? Has a nice ring to it don’t you think? And SMS is right, you are brave. *tips his hat*

    By the way, you’ve been tagged over on my blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

