Posted by: Tricia | Tuesday, October 21, 2008

And the hits just keep on coming!

I got a text message at work yesterday that created all different kinds of emotional reactions in me.

From the IX. Figures, huh?

He let me know he needs $800 to keep his nice new shiny car from getting repo’ed.

He said he’d call tonight with more details. I texted back:

“No need to call…I don’t have the money. Maybe you can carpool with [one of his bosses who lives nearby]. Or get a POS car for the time being.”

Even if I did have the money, there’s no way in hell I’m giving any of it to him.

My mind started to wander a little bit…what if he loses his job because he can’t get to it? His child support payments are half (yes, half) of my income. There’s no way I could live in this house without them (and I’m cutting it kind of close as it is). I desperately want to stay in this house…it’s a sweet little quiet neighborhood, and I love the sense of security and normalcy it offers my boys. The RK catches the bus every morning with all his buddies, he rides his bike to and from said buddies’ houses to play…

And the IB, too, although it’s not such a big deal at this point. But when we moved in here, my next-door neighbor, my neighbor directly across the street, and I were all pregnant. Their boys are three months older than my little one, but still…they’ll all be in the same grade together when the time comes. I love that.

The best thing about this neighborhood I live in is Halloween. Oodles and oodles of doors to knock on. Rather elaborate Halloween decorations scattered throughout the sub. After living in an apartment for so long (NO trick-or-treating allowed), this rocks.

It’s a wonderful little community, and it’s what those precious boys deserve to grow up in. Not some ghetto apartment because it’s all their single mom, who had no idea how important getting her college degree would really be, can afford.

I utterly, completely, passionately despise the fact that I am still so dependent on that stupid, selfish, immature asshole who had no business procreating in the first place. (But yes…I am SOOOOOO glad he did.)

So now I’m faced with quite the quandary. I’m trying to think ahead a little bit here…the wheels in my head are turning, and I’m brainstorming ways to come up with some other source of income that can change this pathetic situation I’m in. I’d love to be at the point where all of his child support payments could just go right into a savings account for the boys, or something like that. But I don’t want to go out and get another job…it wouldn’t be worth it…part-time at night, having to pay for night-time childcare…um, no.

Much to y’all’s chagrin, I just might put some AdSense on my blog and have at it. I don’t have enough readers at this point, but there’s always ways to boost that with a little effort.

I’m still mulling over the Big Sell-off of all the crap in this house. But that seems like it’ll come to an end once all the crap has been sold off. Right?

I’m just not the Mary Kay, Avon, Pampered Chef, Creative Memories type. Ugh…the thought makes me shudder.

I could teach flute to the little kiddies. But who am I to teach? Again…NO degree. And I wouldn’t even know where to start building my lesson plan. Seems like that would run into quite a bit of start-up money, too…all the method books, etc.

So I turn to you, my dear readers…any thoughts? Suggestions? How can I get myself out from under the thumb of that man?

Responses

  1. You could always sit on a mattress at the corner street with a sign that says “curb service”.

    seriously….you would be very surprised what you can make money on through ebay. Here’s a hint, anything lightweight with a brand name thats popular. And that includes kids clothing, i’m STILL selling walters clothes on ebay at seasons beginning for the things he has outgrown.

    I’ve sold DVD’s, books, name brand decor, things people have given me that I never opened or used, a bunch of stuff from my kitchen such as pampered chef implements I never use, collectibles, dishes. For example, I was in the Goodwill a few weeks ago, and I wanted some dinner plates because we are low on them. I picked up a stack of 5 they wanted 2 dollars for them. When I got home I just happened to look them up on ebay cause they sort of looked special? Turns out they are worth about 9 bucks a PIECE. Yeah, we won’t be eating off those. they will be sold.

    You can go to yardsales, and pick up things like name brand purses and sell those, it goes on and on. Old kids toys, fisher price, etc etc. Start looking around your house, and see if you have anything you don’t “need”

  2. Yes, I agree… begin with the big Sell Off. Put that cash away, save it.

    Do you have some much-needed skills you might offer?

    Typing? Transcribing?

    How about tutoring kids?

  3. Numero Uno? I wouldn’t give him money. It’s like blackmail…it won’t ever end. He’ll find a way, a man will do what a man’s gotta do to keep his car…maybe not his wife and kids and electricity and groceries…but threaten a man’s car or cable? Not gonna happen.

    I don’t know enough about what you do or what your interests are to offer advice (I’m a newbie with my homie!). I would say get a CDL! LOL, I’m trying to give away truck driving jobs!

    But YOU know where you excel, you are resourceful…and here’s a thought, coming on the heels of finding a certain mailing address for a certain plumber…and hearing IX may be repo’ed…you are SO resourceful…have you though about skip tracing?

    I used to do that…I was “repo suave”. All you need is a phone, a social security number and a bit of a scam and you can track down scum who don’t pay their bills or child support. Though, in this climate, it may be harder. You’d be an excellent PI/skip tracer!

  4. doozie — that is very encouraging indeed. My problem is that I get myself all keyed up thinking it’s going to be this big, ginormous project, when all I need to do is start with one thing to sell…then just keep going. One thing at a time. Breathe…breathe…

    SMS — Typing, yeah…about 60wpm. Transcribing…never done it. Couldn’t be too hard, right? I’ll look into that.

    Robin — I’m thinking more along the lines of supplemental income for the job I have now that doesn’t take me out of the house. So scratch the CDL.

    As for being resourceful….eh, maybe. The MSM media did all the work for me with Joe. And as for the IX…he told me directly about his repo danger.

    I’m so grateful for your feedback!

  5. Oh I know the feeling. I hate that I am dependant on the child support, I would love to be self-supporting.

    I wish I had an answer for you. But good luck in your quest in finding it.

  6. Ummm have you ever seen Snapped the show on Oxygen…..j/k. It is a real show, but I am not suggesting you literally “snap” on him. 🙂
    Anyways, best of luck to you.

  7. Elisabeth — Welcome! It’s nice to know I’m not the only one out there in this situation. It’ll take some time, but I don’t plan on it being this way for all that long.

    GD&U2 — Welcome to you, too! I think I’ve heard of it, but haven’t ever seen it. Sorry…


Leave a Reply

Categories

