Posted by: Tricia | Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Tag! I’m It!

Oooh yay! My first meme since resurrecting my blog! Thanks Kendall!

Here are the Rules:

1.Link to the person that tagged you
2.Post the rules on your blog
3.Share six non-important things/habits/quirks about yourself
4.Tag six random people at the end of your post by linking to their blogs
5.Let each random person know they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their website.

OK so here we go:

  1. I adore Coca-Cola.  Thankfully, though, I don’t drink a lot of it.  I guess I feel like it wouldn’t be such a special treat if I drank it all the time.  I won’t drink any other cola except for Dr Pepper.  It rocks, too.
  2. I have two cats that drive me insane.  Sylvester, the older one, looks just like Sylvester from Looney Toons.  I got him waaaaaaay back when I was in college from my boyfriend’s roommate’s parents in Ennis, TX on our way back to Austin from a football game against TCU.  My other one is Oscar, who is totally black.  I named him ‘Oscar’ because he’s very dark.  In Spanish, ‘oscuro’ means dark.  Turns out I’d rather give all my love and affection to my boys…the cats lose.  Really, I’m just waiting for them to die.
  3. Ooohh!  I’ve got another one!  I’m semi-fluent in Spanish.  However, it’s textbook Spanish.  I spent ten years of school in Spanish class, starting in the second grade, and going all the way up through college.  The last Spanish class I took was at UTPB, and I was one of three white people in the whole class…the rest were hispanic.  The teacher was from Venezuela.  I could understand very little of what they all talked about in class, but when it came time to work on our textbook assignments, they were all asking me for help.  ‘Cuz I can read and write it quite well, and they couldn’t. One of my goals before I die is to become conversationally fluent. But even now, if you need someone to get you through Mexico, just let me know…
  4. I like to think my parenting style is a little Ma & Pa Ingalls, a little Cliff & Claire Huxtable, and a little Dan & Roseanne Connor. There was a lot of good stuff to glean from the way they each parented.
  5. I had gestational diabetes while pregnant with the IB.  It didn’t come as a huge surprise, because diabetes runs in my family.  I got a crash-course in counting carbs, and desperately missed french fries!  I got pretty good at remembering to poke my finger and check my blood sugar four times a day, and injecting insulin into my thigh twice a day.  But it was really nice to leave it all behind once I punched that kid out.  Now I’m really trying to be more conscientious about my diet and lifestyle to keep it from developing into full-blown diabetes in the future, though.  I only gained 23 lbs. with the IB (mainly because of the diabetes), vs. the 50 w/the RK.  I lost more than 23 lbs. afterwards, though…because of the shit I was going through with my husband, I dropped from a size 10ish-12ish down to a 4.  And amazingly, that’s where I’m still at.  And loving it.  I really like the way I look now.
  6. OK…one more.  Let’s see…I have no idea what made this pop into my head, but here it is.  When I was little, my mom used to make audio tape recordings of special events.  My birthdays, etc.  It’s so funny to hear me talk when I was three…my Texas accent was so thick!  My favorite song when I was around that age was “You Light Up My Life” by Debbie Boone.  My mom recorded me singing it along with the record, and she likes to say how she wouldn’t take a million dollars for it.  It’s so funny, too, because when Debbie sings, “And you…fill up my life….with song….”  I sang, “…whistle…..”  How cute was I?

Because I walk on the wild side, I’m gonna break the rules and forego passing my tags along. I know…party pooper. Please feel free to consider yourself tagged, and go blog your six things. Let me know if you do…I’d love to read it!

Off to bed now…where did the time go?

Leave a Reply

Categories

