Posted by: Tricia | Monday, October 27, 2008

Uninspired

I just haven’t felt much like writing these last few days. The boys went with their dad this past weekend, and I was a lazy bum most of the time. I didn’t get to watch the Longhorns game, because apparently, the Michigan State/Michigan game was a bigger deal in these parts. I wavered back and forth over ordering the Longhorns on PPV for $21.95, but was a good girl and decided not to. I followed the game on the little ESPN Gamecast that has a little virtual football field and after each play, little bars & symbols pop up on the field indicating what just happened. Definitely not as exciting or entertaining, but better than nothing, I suppose. Fortunately, the Longhorns pulled it off, but not by much. It was a squeaker! Oh, the anxiety! One thing’s for sure…my blood pressure is much lower when they’re not ranked #1.

The RK wanted to be a Storm Trooper from Star Wars for Halloween this year. He’s actually wanted to be this for a couple of years now, and finally, the time has come. But he’s not thrilled with the costume I got him on eBay. He was thinking more along the lines of the ‘Deluxe’ model, with the actual armored pads and full helmet. The one I got him is just the jumpsuit with the armor drawn on and half-mask. I told him that I just can’t be spending $50+ on his Halloween costume. I think he’s actually planning on wearing his army commando costume from last year again. I really, truly hate disappointing my son.

I told him, though, that even I am making sacrifices, and I referenced how badly I wanted to watch that football game this weekend, but didn’t, because of the unnecessary expense.

I’m one step closer to launching my big Sell-Off. I opened an account with UPS! So now I just need to figure out what I want to sell first. The company I work for does most of its business via UPS, so I’m going to talk to our shipping person & her boss to see if I can just bring my packages up to work and get the UPS guy to take them with the outgoing orders. Hopefully that won’t be a problem. If it is, though, I guess I can just drop off at a UPS store close by.

And I cannot wait for this election to be over! I am so fed up with all the nasty campaign commercials. Frankly, it makes me want to vote against whoever paid for the commercial. I’m so ashamed that this is what our political process has come to, and I’ve really lost my enthusiasm about voting. Whatever happened to “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all”? Thankfully, just a little over a week to go.

I have just been feeling rather apathetic about life the last few days…just haven’t felt like doing much of anything. I didn’t get much accomplished with my free time this weekend, except clean my carpet where the IB had decorated it with drops of milk from his sippy cup, and where french fries and various other food items had been dropped on the floor in front of the coffee table. So that’s something, I guess. And thankfully, that only cost me $17.99 + tax, because I borrowed the IB’s babysitter’s carpet cleaner. All I had to buy was the cleaning liquid. I’m mad that I didn’t read the instructions a little closer, though, because the stuff I bought was ultra-concentrated, and was supposed to be diluted. Yeah, I didn’t do that. Now my carpet’s a little crunchy. Maybe I won’t return the cleaner just yet and go back over the carpet with just a water-rinse.

Watching the news these last few days has really been a major factor in bumming me out, too. I’m so sad for Jennifer Hudson, whose amazing, thrilling, happy life was just brought to a crashing halt by the murders of her mother and brother, and now her nephew is missing. And the anchorwoman from Little Rock who was beaten in her home a week ago and passed away this weekend from her injuries…just so sad. What is wrong with people? What’s the point? Aaagghh…disgusting.

And on that note, I’ve got to go put my nose to the grindstone. I wish I could put up a soundproof door in my cubie today. I just don’t feel like talking to anyone.

I hope y’all have a fabulous day!

Responses

  1. big BIG hugs for you, Tricia.

    I know what you mean, though. The news depresses me too. I feel terrible for Jennifer Hudson. And the anchorwoman in Little Rock…I was so sad to hear that she had died.

    I’m with you. What is wrong with people??? It’s just baffling.


Leave a Reply

Categories

