Posted by: Tricia | Thursday, October 30, 2008

Mama’s Love

I just came across this story that brought tears to my eyes and a lump to my throat.

It’s amazing to me the deep sadness and sympathy I felt for this mama bear. And it’s amazing how universally fierce a mother’s love is for her babies throughout the food chain. I remember seeing a documentary a number of years ago about how killer whales feed on baby sea lions that are just too little to escape their early demise, and how the mama sea lions just run up and down the shore and wail, frantically looking for their babies who are not coming back. When it comes to nature doing what nature is supposed to do, I’m normally able to accept the fact that that’s just how life is, but stories like these just break my heart.

And my faith in humanity is boosted a little bit by the fact that the authorities disrupted the busy flow of traffic to allow the mama bear to get her baby back. I love the respect that paid to the bear.

I can’t wait to get home this afternoon and hug my sweet boys.

Responses

  1. I’m filled with aww and heartwarming. This made me cry and smile at the same time, I love it.

  2. Tricia, In reading previous posts this morning, I discovered you had awarded me with the Kreative Blogger award. I am so honored…not for the physical widjet I get to put on my sidebar, but for your words of inspiration. Thank you so much, Sweet Girl!! I’ll post it with pride…as soon as I come up with 6 things I love!! (that shouldn’t be too difficult!)

    I love the bear story! Too often, I take for granted that my loved ones know how much I love them without me verbally expressing that love. Thanks for reminding me of a mama’s love!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

